Skip to main content
Recommend a Purchase
If UCSD Library doesn't own a book or journal that you think we ought to have, please fill out the purchase suggestion form or contact me.
For delivery of an article or book or report from another university library - use Circuit (borrow books from San Diego area libraries) or Interlibrary loan.
New Computer Science books & e-books
New Electrical Engineering books & e-books
Searchable full-text editions of hundreds of CRC/Chapman & Hall texts, handbooks, dictionaries & tables covering engineering topics. Includes: Comprehensive Dictionary of Electrical Engineering; Fiber Optics Illustrated Dictionary, Telecommunications Illustrated Dictionary.
Dictionary of Statistics [UCSD Only]
1500 entries. Provides concise, jargon-free definitions of terms. Features biographical information on key figures, entries covering statistical journals, terms used in computing, operational research, probability and mathematical & statistical notation.
Includes thousands of articles, dictionary terms and research updates in all areas of science and technology. Also includes over 2000 biographies of leading scientists, weekly updates of breakthroughs and discoveries in science and technology, a science dictionary, and links to related websites. Limited to two simultaneous users at a time.
These are the main e-book collections (not single titles) of interest to computer science & electrical engineering researchers. Unless otherwise specified, books in these collections are also in the UCSD Libraries catalog, though the most recently published ones are generally available online 1-3 months before appearing in our catalog.
IEEE-Wiley on IEEE Xplore
IEEE-Wiley ebooks for electrical engineering, communications and computer engineering, with some bioengineering and general engineering titles. 2011-2016 IEEE books are in the Wiley Online Library. [1992-2010]
MIT Press Ebooks at IEEE Xplore
MIT Press ebooks on engineering topics (heavily in computing), including some general interest titles and social aspects of computing and technology. [1970s to present, plus a few pre-1970s titles]
Safari Tech Books Online (O'Reilly)
Over 2250 O'Reilly IT/computing books. Simultaneous access is limited to 30 UC users, so please click “Sign Out” when finished. Our Safari license only includes the O’Reilly titles. If you need access to titles from Cisco, IBM and the other publishers, Safari offers several personal subscription options. [1997 to present]
Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science
Short lecture-sized books that synthesize important research topics, with more analysis & depth than the typical research article. Emphasis on general engineering, electrical engineering, computer science, biomedical engineering, human-centered informatics, and human language technologies. [2005 to present]
3,000+ texts, handbooks, encyclopedias and databases for chemistry and engineering. Advanced features include numerical range searching and interactive graphs and tables. Excellent resource for chemical/physical property & engineering data; use the basic search for (compound and property), or the more advanced Data Search.
E-Book collections for sciences and engineering including ENGnetBASE, MATHnetBASE, STATSnetBASE. Click 'more info' icon to find out more about using these. Suggest physics titles from CRC by Recommending a Purchase.
Springer E-books in Engineering
Thousands of online books from 2005-2016, covering all areas of engineering.
Springer E-Books in Computer Science
Thousands of online books from 2005-2016, plus older volumes in series such as Lecture Notes in Computer Science. Search or browse, with chapters available as PDFs. Browse the titles or search full-text, and (for selected titles) purchase your own paperback copy for $25.
SkillSoft Web-Based Training - IT Skills e-books + videos
Books 24/7 and videos on IT and desktop skills. [Skillsoft is licensed by UCSD Staff Education to give faculty, staff, and students web-based courses, videos and e-books; requires UCSD username and password.]
Oxford University Press - Math & Physics
ebooks from Oxford University Press. [2000 to present]
Almost 400 books from the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics covering topics from math and applied math fields such as astronomy, atmospheric science, computer science, economics & finance, fluids, and physics.
Wiley Online Library - Books in Physics
This publisher offers some of their books online. California Digital Library has purchased many of the Wiley Interscience books for 2011-2016, and UCSD Libraries purchased selected individual e-books from prior years.
Wiley Online Library - Books in Mathematics
This publisher offers many of their books online. California Digital Library has licensed many of the Wiley Interscience books for 2011 - 2016, and UCSD Libraries purchased selected individual e-books from prior years. Suggest a purchase if a desired title doesn't display the unlocked icon via http://libraries.ucsd.edu/locations/se/services/forms/book-or-journal-purchase-recommendation.html
Springer E-Books Collection
Thousands of books from the 1800's-present including the Springer Mathematics & Statistics archive. Heavy coverage of statistics and mathematics. Search or browse, with chapters available as PDFs. Browse the titles or search full-text, and (for selected titles) purchase your own paperback copy for $25.