LibGuides: PBL Information Resources and Tools for the First Year: Drug Info Resources

Learn to Use the Resources

Drug Online Resources & Books

The Library's most popular resources for Drug Information

The following list includes the key pharmacy-specific database to find the original literature and a wealth of synthesized resources to help you quickly find the information you need, from finding background information about a drug (e.g. pharmacology, pharmacokinetics) to information for treating patients (e.g. dosing, interactions).

The Medical Letter
A great resource for condensed information on a specific drugs or group of drugs. If they have a comparison table, you will find not only the article but a direct link to the table - for example, Comparison Table: Inhaled Long-Acting Bronchodilators for COPD.
Clinical Pharmacology
This database has comprehensive coverage of marketed US drugs and some investigational agents. It also contains a drug identification tool, drug interaction checker, patient handouts, and an ... For more info - see the info button above. external linkage to the Natural Medicines Database which provides extensive information on herbals and nutraceuticals. Terminology is consistent throughout the database, allowing comprehensive searches of various topics such as drugs that cause specific adverse reactions, all drugs used for certain indications, etc. The database has references to the primary literature.
Micromedex
This is a collection of databases with "Drugdex" as the key one. A search is done across all databases and is likely to find info in several of the databases. It has more extensive referencing than other major databases, with some info on investigational and non-US drugs as does Martindale (a European drug database) which is included in the Micromedex package. For more information - see the info button above. The package also contains a drug identification tool ("Identidex"), a drug interaction checker, patient handouts, summary drug documents and three teratology databases.
NatMed Pro
A comprehensive database of natural products, herbals and nutraceuticals, including proprietary combinations on the market. It is particularly useful for identifying the components of multiple-ingredient products. (Formerly Natural standard and Natural medicines comprehensive database.)
Meyler’s Side Effects of Drugs: The International Encyclopedia of Adverse Drug Reactions and Interactions
This database contains extensive, well-referenced electronic books on adverse reactions reported on drugs and drug classes. Search for drug names to find case reports of adverse effects, or search for adverse effects to find lists of drugs that have been associated with that effect.

DailyMed - Current Medication Information
From the National Library of Medicine, this free tool has professional level information about drugs, pharmacotherapy, contraindications and more. Information comes from the package inserts and also includes the very latest FDA information. I appreciate the easy to navigate interface and part of its purpose is to make those package inserts easier to read.