Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
InSite Archive: Digital Collections
The inSite Archive contains materials documenting the inSite organization and the projects of its artists. The digital collection contains a selection of documents, images, videos, and sound files detailing project installations from six inSite iterations. The most recent collaboration, Casa Gallina, consists entirely of digital records.
Created as a network of contemporary art programs and commissioned projects among non-profit and public institutions, inSite explored public or contextual art practice in the specific context of the San Diego-Tijuana border region. In 1980, Installation Gallery was opened in San Diego with a goal to present local and regional artists. In 1992, inSite was formed, replacing Installation Gallery. InSite has had five major versions: inSITE92, inSITE94, inSITE97, inSITE2000, and inSite_05, plus the Casa Gallina project in Mexico City dating from 2013-2018.
InSite Archive Finding Aid
This 'finding aid' serves as the inventory of the archive of inSite, an organization that produced collaborative contemporary public art projects in the San Diego-Tijuana region. The materials range in date from 1992 to 2006, and include publications, administrative files, audio and video materials, and digital materials which document the numerous projects created by inSite artists, as well as the daily functions of the organization. The finding aid is how you locate and request specific materials from the collection, to use in the Special Collections & Archives reading room in Geisel Library.
The collection contains 205 binder boxes, produced by inSite staff, which document project installations from the five inSite versions: inSITE92, inSITE94, inSITE97, inSITE2000, and inSite_05. These Project Boxes should provide you with what you need, but some in depth researchers also look through the additional boxes that document administrative functions in the Working Files and Administrative Files Series, or may wish to explore the additional Media and Images Series.
InSITE94 : a binational exhibition of installation and site-specific art : San Diego, Tijuana guide
Call Number: N6494.I56 I57 1994
Catalog of an exhibition coordinated by Installation Gallery in conjunction with the Museum of Contemporary Art, San Diego, the Dept. of Culture of the City of Tijuana, and 38 nonprofit institutions in San Diego and Tijuana collectively sponsoring new works by more than 100 artists at 37 locations on both sides of the Mexico/US border and held Sept. 25-Oct. 30, 1994
InSITE97 : private time in public space : San Diego, Tijuana
Call Number: N6494.I56 I5682 1998
InSITE97: new projects in public spaces by artists from the Americas was a collaboration of twenty-seven nonprofit institutions in San Diego and Tijuana ... The exhibition was on view from 26 September through 30 November 1997
InSite journal literature & newspaper articles
Art and Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
1927-present, citations to journal articles on art, architecture, photography, and related disciplines.
ARTBibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window
1974-present. Abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art.
Los Angeles Times (1881 - present) This link opens in a new window
Custom combined full-runs search of three ProQuest versions of Los Angeles Times.
New York Times (1851 - current) This link opens in a new window
Custom combined full-runs search of three ProQuest versions of New York Times.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
The new successor to LexisNexis Academic, Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches, and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
San Diego Union Tribune This link opens in a new window
1984-present. Full text (but no images) of the Union-Tribune, and before the 1990 merger, of the separate San Diego Union and Evening Tribune. For page images, library has on microfilm 1992-present