The music collections are developed to meet ongoing research and instructional needs, primarily in the Department of Music. The most relevant published music, recordings, books, and serials are collected. For the UC San Diego community at large, the collections also represent most types of music past and present.
This is a living collection of books, articles, documentaries, series, podcasts and more about the Black origins of traditional and popular music dating from the 18th century to present day. Resources are organized chronologically and by genre for ease of browsing.
Subject-author guide to more than 850 music periodicals from over 40 countries. Indexes international music periodicals that cover every aspect of the classical and popular world of music. A broad range of subjects are indexed, covering musicological or organological topics, plus book reviews, record reviews, first performances, and obituaries.
Covers all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, popular music, and composition. Includes articles and abstracts from international periodicals. The majority of content is from the most recent ten years of publication.
An international scope and focus on scholarly publications. Coverage is 1967 to date for the current database and the early 1800s for a combination of RILM and RILM Retro.
Thousands of articles from underground magazines such as Punk, Creem, and Mojo, also from more mainstream titles such as Melody Maker, Spin and Rolling Stone. Includes some reviews and audio interviews.
