Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A database is an organized collection of structured information, or data, typically stored electronically.
A bibliographic database is a collection of references to research or published literature, searchable online and updated on a regular basis, with content indexed & organized by an organization, publisher or vendor that provides access. Some bibliographic databases may be free online, many are provided for your use by the Library, which pays for a subscription or license.
Find relevant articles efficiently by searching in a database. Connect to databases through the Library website for full functionality such as access to the full text of journals, locating print materials, or requesting an article from another campus.
Make an appointment with your librarian if you need help getting started.
Getting Full Text Articles
The full text of an article within a database is provided in multiple formats. Look for:
- An HTML link
- PDF link
- Link to Get it at UC
The Get it at UC link will provide you options for how to access the full text of the article. If there are no online links available, this means you need to request the item through Interlibrary Loan if a print version is not available at UC San Diego. The Library will deliver the full text of an article to you free of charge. When requesting you will need your Library ID number.
Your library card/account number begins with "21822" and can be found on the back of your UCSD ID card or within the UCSD app. Enter the 14-digit number without spaces.
Subscribe to Journal Content with Browzine
To get started with BrowZine, install the app (or go to BrowZine.com), select UC San Diego from the list of campuses, then follow the instructions to create your account. You must be on the VPN or campus protected wifi network.
selected journals via BrowZine
Setting Up Google Scholar
Set up Google Scholar for full-text access
- Click Settings at the top of the browser window
- Choose Library Links from the left-side menu
- Search for University of California, San Diego, Get it at UC
- Mark check box next to option and click forward arrow
When you search for articles, you will now see a secondary column with additional links on the right. Where you see Get it at UC, you may click that link and it will take you to the article through the library databases.
(Note: If you are not logged into the VPN (see home page of this guide), when you choose an article, you will be asked to log in with your UCSD username and password)
BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
BIOSIS coverage is from 1926 to present and includes around 6,000 journals, conference proceedings, books, & technical reports in all aspects of biological sciences. The BIOSIS Citation Index database is an excellent database for all biological information, including marine biology, biological oceanography, marine ecology, developmental biology, and molecular biology. This is the preferred database to use over BIOSIS Previews because you can search for cited references.
CogNet Library This link opens in a new window
A growing collection of searchable electronic texts for cognitive, brain, and computer sciences from MIT Press and others.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Embase database covers around 8,600 journals from 100 countries, Subjects covered include all disciplines of medicine and biomedical science with particular strengths in the fields of drug research, pharmacology and toxicology. It also includes coverage of Allied Health subjects as well as Public Health topics. A key resource for systematic reviews, particularly ones involving drug therapy.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
1597-present. From the American Psychological Association. Provides access to scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations. Includes approximately 2,500 journals. Updated weekly.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Covers over 5,700 journals in the biomedical and health sciences and years covered late 1940's - present, with additional older medical literature selectively added. Search using keywords or the controlled vocabulary called MeSH. PubMed will automatically match your keyword terms to MeSH terms. For additional tips, see the Library's PubMed page
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 18,000 journals in all subjects (coverage back to 1900 for science and social science journals), as well as 80,000 books and more than 180K conference proceedings. Includes the popular "cited reference search" to identify papers which have cited a previously published work or author. Can also sort by "times cited" and find related articles based on commonly cited works.
bioRxiv is an open access preprint repository for the biological sciences hosted by the Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory. As preprints, papers hosted on bioRxiv are not peer-reviewed, but undergo basic screening and checked against plagiarism