LibGuides: Atkinson Physician Assistant Education Program: Locate Sources

Locate Sources

1. Begin with UC Library Search - enables broad searching. It searches materials in all UC Libraries, including books and ebooks, journals, maps, government documents, films, musical scores, manuscripts, and images, plus citations and full-text articles from hundreds of additional databases.

2. Expand your search using subject-specific databases - enables deep searching. Subject-specific databases allow you to search within a specific field or expert source.

CINAHL
1937 - present. Covers indexing of over 5000 journals in nursing and the allied health sciences, with full text for over 700 of those journals. Coverage includes nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative & complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Embase
Embase database covers around 8,600 journals from 100 countries, Subjects covered include all disciplines of medicine and biomedical science with particular strengths in the fields of drug research, pharmacology and toxicology. It also includes coverage of Allied Health subjects as well as Public Health topics. A key resource for systematic reviews, particularly ones involving drug therapy.
PubMed
Covers over 5,700 journals in the biomedical and health sciences and years covered late 1940's - present, with additional older medical literature selectively added. Search using keywords or the controlled vocabulary called MeSH. PubMed will automatically match your keyword terms to MeSH terms. For additional tips, see the Library's PubMed page.

A-Z Databases: Medicine
Access medicine-specific database options from the Library's A-Z database list, including pre-set filters within PubMed for Electronic Health Records, Health Disparities Search, and Clinical Queries

Any database with a blue lock icon blue locked padlock requires VPN when working off campus.

Tips for Using UC Library Search

Sign in to access full results lists, electronic resources, request items, and save records. To access electronic resources, you must be logged into the VPN if connecting from off-campus.
Capitalize the operators AND, OR, and NOT when combining key search terms.
Selecting "Held by Library" under the Availability filter to limit or print sources.
Filter by Resource type to limit to books, articles, conference proceedings, etc.

If we don't own a particular resource, the Library can borrow it for you from other libraries for free. And they will have it sent to the UC San Diego Library location of your choice. Choose a request option under the Get It heading.

Get the Full-text of an Article

The full text of an article is provided in multiple formats. Look for:

An HTML link
PDF link
Link to Get it at UC

The Get it at UC link will provide you with options for accessing the full text of the article. If there are no online links available, you need to request the item through Interlibrary Loan if a print version is unavailable at UC San Diego. The Library will deliver the full text of an article to you free of charge. When requesting, you will need your Library ID number.

Your library card/account number begins with "21822" and can be found on the back of your UCSD ID card or within the UCSD app. Enter the 14-digit number without spaces.

Set up Google Scholar for Full-Text Access

scholar.google.com
Click Settings at the top of the browser window
Choose Library Links from the left-side menu
Search for University of California, San Diego - Get it at UC
Mark the check box next to the option
Save

When you search for articles, you will now see a secondary column with additional links on the right. Where you see Get it at UC, you may click that link and it will take you to the article through the library databases.

(Note: You MUST be logged into the VPN (see home page of this guide), when you choose an article)