LibGuides: Climate Action at UC San Diego and Beyond: Finding Articles

News Sources

Factiva
Factiva.com provides access to over 8,000 sources including: * 1,000+ Global and local newspapers * 3,000+ Journals and magazines * 30,000+ Company Reports Factiva.com delivers content in 22 languages. IT IS ESSENTIAL TO (IE MAKE MAKE SURE THAT) YOU USE BOOLEAN SEARCH TERMS!!!
Scroll down on the landing page to the Newsstand: US section for the latest content of Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Barron's & more.
New York Times (1999-present)
Economist.com
Publisher portal to articles in Economist magazine (1997- ) plus related content. Our URL provides access to the restricted "premium content" inside. (Longer online runs of Economist articles are available via other databases; see Help Links.)
Access World News
Dates vary, but some historical coverage as far back as 1690. More than 5000 sources worldwide, including nearly 1500 in the U.S. Many historical newspapers are in digitized image form. Largely newspapers, with newswires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, videos.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni contains thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, wires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, trade journals; also industry news, company information, law reviews, court decisions, statutes. Coverage dates vary. International and U.S. sources.

Business News Americas
This Database is focused on Latin America but virtually all of its content is related to Environmental and Climate Change. It provides industry and company news and reports covering technology, telecom, electric power, oil and gas, mining, infrastructure, banking, insurance, water, and privatization sectors across Latin America. Access can be tricky, so CLICK ON MORE for important information.
more...less...
The first time you login, you need to use the passwordless login – put in your email, and click on send magic link.

The magic link will probably go to your Junk Mail/Spam – and, if you have set that so that you get a daily digest, by the time you get it, it will probably have expired. Here’s how to get it more quickly and unblock it for the future.

Search your inbox or junk mail or deleted mail for: UCSD Spam Quarantine noreply@ucsd.edu

Click on “Request New End User Digest” – which will bring up a digest of your most recent spam alerts

Find the message from bnamericasnews.com (likely in your junk mail) and click on “Release and Allow Sender” – so that that this email will go into your inbox and, in the future, any emails from BNAmericas will not be blocked. Once you get in, you will be able to reset your password for continued use.

Business Resources

The resources listed below are useful to learn about industries and business practices that affect the environment and climate:

Gale Business Insights
- This link opens in a new window
GBI is a great first-stop for business and management information. It includes information on companies and industries from business and trade journals, academic journals, industry reports, newspapers, newsletters, and classic business reference sources. Search on a company name. In the search results, click on individual companies to open well-organized company profiles.
BMI Country Risk Global & All Industry Global
Fitch is leading, independent provider of proprietary data, analysis, ratings, rankings, and forecasts covering 175 countries and 25 industry sectors. Includes lengthy country and industry reports, financial markets and commodities coverage, plus newsletters and daily alerts. Formerly Business Monitor. Login in with campus Single Sign On (SSO) credentials.
IBISWorld Industry Intelligence
IBISWorld contains U.S. and global industry market research reports, including a specialized collection of China Industry Reports. It also provides U.S. business risk ratings, and selected economic and demographic data. Contents are downloadable as full reports or selected elements, such as SWOT analyses, statistical tables and graphs.
Mergent Online
Provides detailed information about U.S. and International public companies. Content includes: links to SEC EDGAR filings, current and archived company profiles and annual reports, historical financial and stock price data, financial ratios, equity research reports, and industry reports. **This resource will be replaced by Mergent Market Atlas in June 2025.

Databases

National Agricultural Library
AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) serves as the catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library, as well as a primary public source for world-wide access to agricultural information. The database covers materials in all formats and periods, including printed works from as far back as the 15th century. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences."
Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA)
The ASFA database is a premier source for aquatic resources, covering over 7,000 journals, books, reports, & conference proceedings mainly from 1971 - to present, with some coverage back to the 1800s. This database is ideal for research in the areas of aquaculture, aquatic organisms, aquatic pollution, conservation, fisheries, marine biotechnology, oceanography, policy & legislation, and wildlife management.
Consult the ProQuest online guide for help searching this database, features for refining your search, saving results as alerts or RSS feeds, and emailing or downloading your search & results: https://proquest.libguides.com/asfa
BIOSIS Citation Index
BIOSIS coverage is from 1926 to present and includes around 6,000 journals, conference proceedings, books, & technical reports in all aspects of biological sciences. The BIOSIS Citation Index database is an excellent database for all biological information, including marine biology, biological oceanography, marine ecology, developmental biology, and molecular biology. The platform also includes a version called BIOSIS Previews which lacks some cited-reference search abilities.
Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database
Combined search for 1) Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA), 2) Oceanic Abstracts, and 3) Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA). It provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. The database includes specialized references and resources studying the critical issues affecting Earth’s air, land, and water environments. Coverage is from 1950 - present.
EconLit
Produced by the American Economic Association, with coverage from 1969-present, this database provides journal article references & abstracts, books, dissertations, and working papers in economics. Search for topics such as "climate policy", and also to get economic perspective on general topics in climate science.
Environment Complete
Offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. It contains more than 2.5 million records from more than 2,350 domestic and international titles dating back to 1888. Formerly Environment Index.
Environmental Issues Online
Brings together multimedia materials (text, archival primary sources, video and audio) around key environmental challenges, including climate change, water/air pollution, biodiversity, conservation, agriculture, deforestation and more. The database focuses on specific environmental case studies that enable students, teachers, and researchers to dive into particular, local problems and to investigate how solutions have been created (or not created) in globally scale-able ways. Each case study includes published text, films, documentaries, government reports, NGO publications, monographs, regulations debates, contextualizing resources, and archival primary sources, with an eye toward situating each case in its historical context and supporting continued interdisciplinary dialogue to invent multi-faceted and creative solutions for the future.
GeoRef
The GeoRef database contains over 3 million references from around 3,500 journals, technical reports, books, and theses. Use GeoRef to find journal articles in geology, seismology, marine geology, geophysics, paleontology, petrology and geological maps, going as far back as 1669 for some topics. Use the Get it at UC button in your search results list to find the full text of the articles.
Consult the ProQuest online guide for help searching this database, features for refining your search, saving results as alerts or RSS feeds, and emailing or downloading your search & results: https://proquest.libguides.com/georef
Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA)
This database covers 100s of journals, as well as books & conference proceedings, on meteorology, climatology, air pollution, astrophysics, atmospheric chemistry & physics, physical oceanography, hydrology, glaciology, and weather forecasting, from 1950s to present. Can also be searched as part of Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database.
PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)
The PAIS International database contains continually updated records for over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more, on public affairs and policy from 1915+. Coverage includes climate policy, conservation, energy resources & policy, environmental policy, etc.
Web of Science
Indexes over 18,000 journals in all subjects (coverage back to 1900 for science and social science journals), as well as 80,000 books and more than 180K conference proceedings. Includes the popular "cited reference search" to identify papers which have cited a previously published work or author. Can also sort by "times cited" and find related articles based on commonly cited works.
Westlaw Campus Research
Full text access to federal and state court cases, laws and regulations; law reviews, legal periodicals, and encyclopedias; European Union legal documents; and legal guides. Also includes some news sources.

Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Climate Science
The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Climate Science is a substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated resource for your research in all climate related areas.