The UN provides an incredible amount of primary and secondary source material useful for Research and Interventions in Climate Change, as well as International Studies research in general.
Some starting points for UN Research Include:
UN Documentation Research Guide - Dag Hammarskjold Library: Includes explanations of documents symbols, indexes, resolutions and decisions, speeches, parliamentary documents, and more. Includes subguides to the General Assembly, the Security Council, and the Economic and Social Council as well as on special topics.
UN News Centre: Search for UN news by region, topic of focus (Iraq, Middle East, terrorism etc.), or by UN body. Includes press releases, factsheets, maps and other resources.
United Nations Research Guides & Resources: Subject guides to key United Nations publications covering a wide range of topics, including international law, human rights, economic development, peacekeeping, and more.
United Nations Research Guide from Northwestern University
The United Nations is the intergovernmental organization (IGO) that facilitates cooperation on international law, security, economic development, social progress, and human rights issues. Almost every recognized independent country is a member state. The UN is divided into the General Assembly (the main deliberative body), the Security Council (which deals with matters of peace and security), the Economic and Social Council (which promotes economic and social cooperation and development), the Secretariat (which provides studies, information, and facilities needed by the UN), and the International Court of Justice. The UN System is comprised of other agencies such as the World Health Organization (WHO), UNICEF (UN Children's Fund), UNDP (UN Development Programme), and UNEP (UN Environmental Programme).
Official documents cover the daily work of the United Nations. The United Nations sales publications deal with a multitude of topics and include the environment, human rights, education, gender, social justice, health, country- or region-specific policy issues, and statistics.
Please note that some of the agencies and resources listed below are specifically dedicated to environmental and climate issues.
Gender and Land Rights Database: Contains country-level information on social, economic, political, and cultural issues as related to gender inequalities.
Human Development Index: The HDI was created to emphasize that people and their capabilities should be the ultimate criteria for assessing the development of a country, not economic growth alone. It thus provides an alternative way to measure quality of life and "wealth" than GDP. Provides access to Data/Statistics, Literature including _The Annual Development Report, News, and Publications, and Country Profiles.
UN Development Programs Project Website
UN Economic and Social Council: The United Nations’ central platform for reflection, debate, and innovative thinking on sustainable development.
UN Food and Agriculture Organization
UN Habitat: UN program dedicated to supporting urban development and the planning and building of a better urban future for next generations by promoting economic growth and social development to reduce poverty and inequalities.
UN International Organization for Migration
UN Office for Disarmament Affairs (UNODA): Provides information about Military Expenditures.
UN Population Fund : UNFPA address reproductive health and population issues, and raises awareness of these issues in all countries.
UN Population Information Network: Guide to UN information and website on population issues.
UN Refugee Agency (UNHCR): Information sharing portals with data about UNHCR and partners’ response to current emergencies and other protracted refugee crises
