Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LTEN 26 Introduction to U.S. Literature, 1865-present: Narrating Our Americas: Primary Sources

Tip!

This is only a partial list! There is so much more here!

Primary Source Databases

Major sites with lots of collections:

More specific collections: 

Presents images, texts and maps that explore "thirteen defining migrations that formed and transformed African America" from 1450 to the present.

Documents relating the Asian American experience from the mid-1800s to the mid-1900s.

Includes books, pamphlets, periodicals, posters, and ephemera covering a wide range of viewpoints on political, social, economic, and cultural issues and movements in the United States and throughout the world.

Presents 253 narratives by Americans and foreign visitors recounting their travels in the colonies and the United States and their observations and opinions about American peoples, places, and society from about 1750 to 1920.

Digitized collection of letters, writings and drawings. (Note: click "Inventory" in left frame to access digital collection.)

This site "illustrates nineteenth and early twentieth century Chinese immigration to California through about 8,000 images and pages of primary source materials...These documents describe the experiences of Chinese immigrants in California, including the nature of inter-ethnic tensions. They also document the specific contributions of Chinese immigrants to commerce and business, architecture and art, agriculture and other industries, and cultural and social life in California."

A selection of images of 19th-century African Americans. The site is searchable, and collections may be browsed by topic (e.g. civil war, family, politics, religion, slavery).

Includes photographs, paintings, ledger drawings, documents, serigraphs, and stereographs from 1874 through the 1940's.

Explores the history of US government Indian boarding schools in the 19th and 20th centuries. Includes archival documents about Santa Fe Indian School, boarding school records, and letters.

Kappler's Indian Affairs is an historically significant, seven volume compilation of U.S. treaties, laws and executive orders pertaining to Native American Indian tribes. The volumes cover U.S. Government treaties with Native Americans from 1778-1883 (Volume II) and U.S. laws and executive orders concerning Native Americans from 1871-1970 (Volumes I, III-VII).

Provides an overview of the temperance movement; includes photographs, political cartoons, charts, graphs, and excerpts from primary documents.

Database of digitized books, images, documents, essays and bibographies documenting women's reform activities in the U.S., mostly from the 19th and 20th centuries.