Amy Coney Barrett - SCOTUS Nomination: Home

Senate Judiciary Committee:

• Chairman Graham Statement on Nomination of Judge Barrett
• Ranking Member Feinstein on Nomination of Judge Amy Coney Barrett to Supreme Court
• Chairman Graham Announces Hearing Dates for Judge Barrett’s Supreme Court Nomination
  • Nomination hearing, 10/12/20 - via Judiciary Committee | via C-SPAN (with transcript), part 1|part 2
    • Barrett's opening statement
  • Nomination hearing, 10/13/20 - via Judiciary Committee | via C-SPAN (with transcript), part 1|part 2|part 3|part 4
  • Nomination hearing, 10/14/20 - via Judiciary Committee | via C-SPAN (with transcript), part 1|part 2|part 3|part 4
  • Nomination hearing, 10/15/20 - via Judiciary Committee | via C-SPAN (with transcript)
    • Written testimony: Randall Noel | Farhan Bhatti | Thomas Griffith | Kristen Clarke | Saikrishna Prakash | Crystal Good | Amanda Rauh-Bieri | Stacy Staggs | Laura Wolk

• Senate Judiciary Questionnaire | supplement 1 | supplement 2
  • Judiciary Committee Democrats to Justice Department: Provide Missing Barrett Materials
• Questions for the Record: Barrett's responses to follow-up questions
• Letters from individuals/organizations
  • American Bar Association rates Barrett as "well qualified"
  • American Legislative Exchange Council
  • Article III Project
  • Committee for Justice
  • Female scholars
  • Liberty Counsel Action
  • National Shooting Sports Foundation
  • Pro Life Court
  • Women for America First
  • Women of Faith
  • Over 200 Advocacy Leaders
  • Jordan Sekulow, Executive Director, American Center for Law and Justice
  • David M. McIntosh, President, Club for Growth
  • Penny Nance, President and CEO, Concerned Women for America Legislative Action Committee
  • Travis Weber, Vice President for Policy and Government Affairs, Family Research Council
  • Kelly Shackleford, President, CEO and Chief Counsel, First Liberty Institute
  • Jessica Anderson, Executive Director, Heritage Action for America
  • Jonathan Alexandre, Liberty Counsel
  • Franklin Graham
  • 18 Secretaries of State
  • 22 State Attorneys General
  • Pennsylvania State Legislators
  • Republican Lieutenant Governors Association
  • State Legislative Leaders from All 50 States
  • John Thurston, Arkansas Secretary of State
  • Scott Bedke, Idaho House of Representatives Speaker
  • Lawrence Wasden, Idaho Attorney General
  • Tre Hargett, Tennessee Secretary of State
  • Notre Dame colleagues: Michael Jenuwine | Paul Miller | Carter Snead
  • Notre Dame Law School Professors: Barry Cushman | Roger Alford | Avishalom Tor | Nicole Garnett
  • Notre Dame Law School Alumni
  • Notre Dame Law School Class of 1997
  • Peter Witty, Notre Dame Law School classmate
  • Patricia O'Hara, Former Notre Dame Law Dean Patricia O'Hara
  • Former clerks
  • Mariel Brookins, Former Clerk
  • Former students: Devan Patel | Alyson Cox and Keith Ongeri
  • Graduates of St. Mary's Dominican High School
  • Aimee Buccellato
  • Paolo Carozza
  • Abba Cohen, Agaduth Israel of America Rabbi
  • Leon DeJulius
  • Jack Goldsmith, Harvard Law School Professor and former George W. Bush Assistant AG
  • Allen Guelzo
  • Traci Lovitt
  • Lisa Nagle
  • Peter Rutledge, University of Georgia School of Law Dean

Congressional Action

• Congress.gov - Summary of actions

Sources of Documents/Writings:

• Nominations Pending for the U.S. Supreme Court (Library of Congress, via Internet Archive)
• List of 7th Circuit opinions (SCOTUSblog; via Internet Archive)

CRS Reports:

• Judge Amy Coney Barrett: Selected Primary Material
• President Trump Nominates Judge Amy Coney Barrett: Initial Observations
• Judge Amy Coney Barrett: Her Jurisprudence and Potential Impact on the Supreme Court
• Fetal Viability and Judge Amy Coney Barrett

Related CRS Reports:

• Supreme Court Appointment Process: Senate Debate and Confirmation Vote
• Supreme Court Nominations, 1789 to 2018: Actions by the Senate, the Judiciary Committee, and the President
• Final Action by the Senate on Supreme Court Nominations During Presidential Election Years (1789-2020) 
• Supreme Court Vacancies That Occurred During Presidential Election Years (1789-2020)
• Supreme Court Appointment Process: President’s Selection of a Nominee
• Supreme Court Appointment Process: Consideration by the Senate Judiciary Committee
• The Death of Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg: Initial Considerations for Congress

White House:

• President Donald J. Trump Announces Intent to Nominate Judge Amy Coney Barrett to the Supreme Court of the United States (via Internet Archive)
• Remarks by President Trump Announcing His Nominee for Associate Justice of the Supreme Court of the United States (via Internet Archive)
• Judge Amy Coney Barrett’s Exceptional Legal Experience, Expertise, and Judicial Record Make Her the Right Choice to Serve on the Supreme Court (via Internet Archive)
• Remarks by Vice President Pence After Meeting with Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell and Judge Amy Coney Barrett (via Internet Archive)
• Supreme Court Nominee Amy Coney Barrett: ‘Judges Are Not Policymakers’ (via Internet Archive)

Congressional Leadership (Initial Reactions):

• Hoyer Statement on the President's Supreme Court Nominee (via Internet Archive)
• McCarthy Calls on Senate to Confirm Amy Coney Barrett (via Internet Archive)
• McConnell Applauds President Trump’s Selection of “Exceptionally Impressive” Judge Amy Coney Barrett
• Pelosi Statement on Nomination of Amy Coney Barrett to Supreme Court (via Internet Archive)
• Schumer: A Vote For Judge Amy Coney Barrett Is A Vote To Eliminate Health Care For Millions In The Middle Of A Pandemic