Use Business Source Complete database (link below) for the very common SWOT analytical tool that analyzes strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and threats? These profiles are mostly for public companies.
Dates of coverage vary, some journals back to early 20th century. Abstracts and full text in virtually all subject areas related to Business, Management and Finance. Journal and magazine articles; also books, industry reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, much more
How do you locate company background information and financials quickly? Follow what's going on with individual companies?.
The first four links below are the most broadly-useful databases that cover all kinds of international and U.S. public and private companies. The rest of the items have more limited use, but function very well in the domains they address, so may be helpful when further information is sought.
Dates of coverage vary, some journals back to early 20th century. Abstracts and full text in virtually all subject areas related to Business, Management and Finance. Journal and magazine articles; also books, industry reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, much more
Nexis Uni contains thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, wires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, trade journals; also industry news, company information, law reviews, court decisions, statutes. Coverage dates vary. International and U.S. sources.
GBI is a great first-stop for business and management information. It includes information on companies and industries from business and trade journals, academic journals, industry reports, newspapers, newsletters, and classic business reference sources. Search on a company name. In the search results, click on individual companies to open well-organized company profiles.
Provides access to over 16,000 global sources including: * 1,000+ Global and local newspapers * 3,000+ Journals and magazines * 30,000+ Company Reports. Factiva.com delivers content in 27 languages, from Arabic to Vietnamese.
Provides detailed information about U.S. and International public companies. Content includes: links to SEC EDGAR filings, current and archived company profiles and annual reports, historical financial and stock price data, financial ratios, equity research reports, and industry reports. **This resource will be replaced by Mergent Market Atlas in June 2025.
Below are the quick links to commonly-requested news sources,
U.S. Major Dailies provides access to current content and significant archives dating back to the 1980s for five of the nation’s most respected national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and The Wall Street Journal, in full-text format.
Looking for your hometown or regional newspaper? Or for an international paper in a region you want to workk? A specialty paper?
If you are looking for a favorite and don't see it at the top resources listed in this section, or you don't know what paper you should be looking at, try browsing among these below.
Dates vary, but some historical coverage as far back as 1690. More than 5000 sources worldwide, including nearly 1500 in the U.S. Many historical newspapers are in digitized image form. Largely newspapers, with newswires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, videos.
We have many countries' major newspapers on our collection, and our Library has a strength in Pacific Rim native-language news sources. Check these guides below for more details on your region of interest.
