MGT 166: Corporate Social Responsibility: Company Background

Business Models

Most information on business models is not explicitly labeled a business model. You need to think critically while you gather background info on a company and look at the news sources.

Gale Business Insights GBI is a great first-stop for business and management information. It includes information on companies and industries from business and trade journals, academic journals, industry reports, newspapers, newsletters, and classic business reference sources. Search on a company name. In the search results, click on individual companies to open well-organized company profiles.
Business Source Complete Dates of coverage vary, some journals back to early 20th century. Abstracts and full text in virtually all subject areas related to Business, Management and Finance. Journal and magazine articles; also books, industry reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, much more
Factiva Provides access to over 16,000 global sources including: * 1,000+ Global and local newspapers * 3,000+ Journals and magazines * 30,000+ Company Reports. Factiva.com delivers content in 27 languages, from Arabic to Vietnamese.
Scroll down on the landing page to the Newsstand: US section for the latest content of Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Barron's & more.

Company Financials

Mergent Online
Provides detailed information about U.S. and International public companies. Content includes: links to SEC EDGAR filings, current and archived company profiles and annual reports, historical financial and stock price data, financial ratios, equity research reports, and industry reports. **This resource will be replaced by Mergent Market Atlas in June 2025.

Company Culture & Climate

Vault
This resource offers company profiles, rankings, and industry and profession profiles. Find career advice using the career guides, résumé templates, and sample cover letters. Search for jobs and internships, and find graduate programs
Business Source Complete
BSC covers all kinds of general business and industry news. Try a combination search of a company name with search terms like corporate culture, diversity in the workplace, job involvement, sustainability, executives, or employees.

Glassdoor.com
Free job searching site that crowd-sources members' opinions about the companies they work for.

Winmo (formerly Advertising RedBooks)
This database contains background information on advertisers and advertising agencies and fields related to applied marketing. Topic Search leads to current awareness articles by leaders in the field. Access from on campus is limited to two at a time. If you are on campus and get the 'login' screen, try again in a few minutes.

Company Directories & Lists

These resources help you do quick company look-ups and/or create lists based on criteria like 'give me all the companies in San Diego that have under 250 employees.'

Gale Business Insights
Use the Companies > Companies Finder tab to identify many companies in the same industry or region.
Nexis Uni
Click the Business box and once there, try the Create a Company List link to pull together companies based on geographic, industry or other criteria.

Rich's Business Directories for California
Search for biotech and high tech firms located in CA. Click Sign in on the upper right of the landing page (make sure you are on the UCSD-Protected network or running the vpn).
Uniworld Company Directories
This resource contains the online version of Foreign Firms Operating in the U.S., and U.S. Firms Operating Abroad, both which are great for job and internship hunters, or others seeking international company information.
more...less...
Search criteria can include geography, industry, size of company, and much more.

MGT 166: Corporate Social Responsibility: Company Background

Hoover's Company Reports

SWOT Analysis

Special Resources: Business Rankings International

ESG Profiles for Companies

New users complete self-registration here - https://my.refinitiv.com/productregistration.html.

MGT166 students should request Workspace for Students and AMR for Students when prompted.

Business Models

Most information on business models is not explicitly labeled a business model. You need to think critically while you gather background info on a company and look at the news sources.

Company Financials

Company Culture & Climate

Company Directories & Lists