NanoEngineering: More Crystallography Resources

For SciFinder, start at the chemical substance record:

1. From Experimental Properties, select the Structure Related tab for structure properties (crystal structure, x-ray diffraction pattern, etc.) and associated literature references.
2. From Get References, check the box to limit results to Crystal Structure and run the search to bring up related article and patent references.

You can also search by research topic, either by compound or group of compounds: crystal structure of carbonitrides

​If you haven't used SciFinder before at UC San Diego, you'll need to create an account first (VPN required).

For Reaxys, start with the list of properties in the substance record.

1. Check for crystal phase, crystal property system, crystal system, and Space Group for information and associated literature references.
2. For inorganic and organometallic compounds, you may need to refer back to the Gmelin Handbooks which, along with Beilstein, were the print predecessors to Reaxys. 
   • Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic Chemistry - Indexes QD151 .G52
     Located in Geisel 1 East, in the Indexes (after the Journals), There are a lot of volumes, but they're organized by element and there's a set of formula indexes. Older volumes are in German with some English.

The Library does not have a license for SpringerMaterials. However, you can still search the database for crystallographic data and access the pre-2010 content published in the Landolt-Börnstein handbooks.

Each record in SpringerMaterials has a source. If the source of the document you need is Landolt-Börnstein and it's from 2009 or earlier, you can get the PDF of the chapter or page (but no .cif files) through Portico. The books are arranged by the title of the volume, and in some cases, the volume's subtitle.

• From SpringerMaterials, note the title of the document and volume in Landolt. Browse the alphabetical list of volumes in Portico, then that volume's table of contents to find your document PDF. Here's a handout (PDF) with some screenshots from both databases.   
• Any literature references are listed at the end of the chapter or section, usually on another PDF.
• Some of the volumes in Portico are alphabetized by their subtitle. For example:
  • Crystal Structure Data of Inorganic Compounds · Key Element: O Part 2 shows up in the volume list as
    • Key Element: O Part 2
  • Crystal Structures of Inorganic Compounds · Structure Types Part 1: Space Groups (230) Ia-3d -(219)-F43-c shows up as
    • Crystal Structures of Inorganic Compounds · Structure Types Part 1: Space Groups (230) Ia-3d -(219)-F43-c
  • Phase Equilibria, Crystallographic and Thermodynamic Data of Binary Alloys · Ac-Ag ... Au-Zr shows up as 
    • Ac-Ag ... Au-Zr