Journal Article Databases - SIO 126 & 126L - Marine Microbiology - LibGuides at University of California San Diego

Getting Full Text Articles

The full text of an article within a database is provided in multiple formats. Look for:

An HTML link
PDF link
Link to Get it at UC

The Get it at UC link will provide you options for how to access the full text of the article. If there are no online links available, this means you need to request the item through Interlibrary Loan if a print version is not available at UC San Diego. The Library will deliver the full text of an article to you free of charge. When requesting you will need your Library ID number.

Your library card/account number begins with "21822" and can be found on the back of your UCSD ID card or within the UCSD app. Enter the 14-digit number without spaces.

Databases for Finding Journal Articles

BIOSIS Citation Index
The BIOSIS Citation Index database is an excellent database for marine microbiology. BIOSIS coverage is from 1926 to present and it includes around 6000 journals, conference proceedings, books, & technical reports in all aspects of biological sciences including marine biology, marine ecology, microbiology, and molecular biology. Use the "Cited Reference Search" tab on top of screen to search for lists of articles citing your reference.
PubMed
Covers over 5,500 journals in the biomedical and health sciences and years covered are generally 1946 - present. Search using keywords, be as specific as possible. Use this database for any topics where impact on humans or human health is important.
Web of Science
Indexes over 18,000 journals in all subjects (coverage back to 1900 for science and social science journals), as well as 80,000 books and more than 180K conference proceedings. Includes the popular "cited reference search" to identify papers which have cited a previously published work or author. Can also sort by "times cited" and find related articles based on commonly cited works.
Zoological Record
The Zoological Record database has extensive coverage of zoology from 1864-present. Indexes over 4,500 journals, books, conference papers, & selected dissertations in zoology, and includes a very good subject vocabulary and helpful taxonomic hierarchies.

Databases A-Z
The UC San Diego Library's "Databases A-Z" listing is a comprehensive list of journal article (abstracting and indexing) databases, in all fields, available for your use.

SIO 126 & 126L - Marine Microbiology: Journal Article Databases

Getting Full Text Articles

Databases for Finding Journal Articles