These are some of our top databases for finding articles in research journals in Biological/Biomedical Sciences.
Resources with the Triton icon mean that you need to be connected to the UCSD Network.
BIOSIS coverage is from 1926 to present and includes around 6,000 journals, conference proceedings, books, & technical reports in all aspects of biological sciences. The BIOSIS Citation Index database is an excellent database for all biological information, including marine biology, biological oceanography, marine ecology, developmental biology, and molecular biology. The platform also includes a version called BIOSIS Previews which lacks some cited-reference search abilities.
Covers over 5,700 journals in the biomedical and health sciences and years covered late 1940's - present, with additional older medical literature selectively added. Search using keywords or the controlled vocabulary called MeSH. PubMed will automatically match your keyword terms to MeSH terms. For additional tips, see the Library's PubMed page.
In most of our databases, you'll see this button next to each reference:
Clicking the Get it at UC button often goes directly to the article, or you will see some options to get the article if we can't link directly to it:
- Online, if available (usually displays automatically, if not use the "Get it Online from" section to link to article)
- In print (usually for older journals - if it's at the Library you can make your own scan or copy, or if it's in our storage Annex you can request a scan.
- Via interlibrary loan ("Request it" section) if we don't have the article.
