SPPS 220: Drug Information: Tertiary Databases & Other Sources

This is the new interactive online version of this classic drug compendium, published by ASHP . You will need to create a free personal account the first time you access the database. Print editions are also available at the WongAvery Library.

This is the new interactive online version from ASHP. Print editions of this textbook are also available at the WongAvery Library. ASHP's Handbook on Injectable Drugs™ is designed for use as a professional reference and guide to the literature on the clinical pharmaceutics of parenteral medications. It includes stability and compatibility information on parenteral products, including IV solutions, additives, and admixtures.

This database has comprehensive coverage of marketed US drugs and some investigational agents. Terminology is consistent throughout the database, allowing comprehensive searches of various topics such as drugs that cause specific adverse reactions, all drugs used for certain indications, etc. The database has references to the primary literature. It also contains a drug identification tool, drug interaction checker, and patient handouts. It is recognized by the federal government as a source for off-label drug uses.

This is a collection of databases, some related to each other and others not. Any search is likely to find information in several of the databases which may or may not be consistent. Drugdex is the major drug information database in Micromedex; it is designated as “View detailed document” on the search page. It has somewhat more extensive referencing than the other major databases, with some information on investigational and non-US drugs as does Martindale which is a European drug database included in the Micromedex package. Note that the Summary document, which is not complete or detailed is the default. Choose the detailed document. The Micromedex package also contains a good drug identification tool (Identidex), a drug interaction checker, patient handouts, summary drug documents and three unique teratology databases. It is recognized by the federal government as a source for off-label drug uses.

MotherToBaby California is dedicated to providing FREE evidence-based information to mothers, healthcare professionals, and the general public about medications, alcohol, drugs of abuse, herbal supplements, chemicals, infectious diseases, and other exposures during pregnancy and while breastfeeding. MotherToBaby California specialists answer questions from residents of California, Washington, Hawaii, Alaska, Oregon, Guam, Puerto Rico, the Northern Mariana Islands, and American Samoa.

This database is a comprehensive database of natural products, herbals and nutraceuticals, including proprietary combinations on the market. It includes rigorous evidence-based ratings for over 1200 food, herb, and supplement monographs. It is particularly useful for identifying the components of multiple-ingredient products. It is noteworthy for its expert evaluations of the literature on natural remedies and organized ranking of the literature quality.

Provides access to Lexicomp drug monographs, as well as a drug interaction checker and patient handouts. In addition to drug information, provides evidence-based/expert opinion summaries of disease states and other health-related topics.

Clin-Alert (CLA) provides pharmacists, physicians, and other health care professionals with comprehensive summaries of adverse drug reactions, drug interactions, and market withdrawals from over 100 key medical and research journals from around the world. Clin-Alert's primary focus is drug-drug interactions, but it also features food-drug interactions, medication errors and dietary supplements. It also features First Report notice of the first documented report of an adverse clinical event.