Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Economist This link opens in a new window
Use this link to get to the UCSD subscription to The Economist
online, which covers recent contents. We also have a special link for The Economist Historical Archive
Kiplinger's Personal Finance
Stories relate to saving, investing, taxes, insurance, major purchases including homes, education, health, travel & more.
Consumer Reports Buying Guide by
Call Number: Business Source Complete e-book
Publication Date: annual
Longstanding publication that intends to improve buying decisions through providing reviews, ratings and advice on electronics, home appliances, cars, and supermarket items. Each volume also includes features like shopping advice and brand repair histories. Interim articles are in the monthly Consumer Reports
magazine. Here is a feed of recent articles:
Personal and family finance magazine with articles providing guidance on making, investing, spending, and saving money.
Barron's front page is under the news pages tab in Factiva, plus you can search for Barron's articles in the main search screen. Rady graduate students have special subscription access via these instructions
Popular source of global business news, commentary and analysis on business, finance, and related topics for executives, students and researchers. Stay up-to-date on the world's economic changes. We have fulltext and backfile. The current 30 days are embargoed online. Latest 60 days of the print edition are in Geisel's Newspapers section (2nd fl., West Wing). Archives (1888-2020)
Journal of Persional Finance
Has research-based articles examine the impact of financial issues on households as well as the practice and profession of financial planning.
Frequently Used Resources
- Wall Street Journal
UCSD gets the current day's content of the WSJ via WSJ Proquest and via the News Pages of Factiva. Use the Proquest interface if you want a precise search for a topic; use the Factiva News Pages version if you want to access to graphics and downloadable audio content. Proquest offers article alerts to your email and can search back to 1980. If you need access to WSJ content older than that, or full page images, use the WSJ Historical database.
http://uclibs.org/PID/11383 (ProQuest current)
http://uclibs.org/PID/32497 (Factiva current)
http://uclibs.org/PID/11380 (ProQuest historical)
The Wall Street Journal now available from their website for all UCSD students and employees with single sign-on authentication
- Business Insights: Global (formerly Business & Company Resource Center)
BI: Globalis a great first-stop for business information. It includes information on companies and industries from business and trade journals, academic journals, industry reports, newspapers, newsletters, and classic business reference sources.
- Nexis Uni
Thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, wires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, trade journals; also industry news, company information, law reviews, court decisions. Coverage dates vary. Former name: Academic Universe. http://uclibs.org/PID/20081
Latest articles from Business Source Complete