Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Creating Alerts to Keep up with New Publications
A great way to keep up with new periodical publications is to use BrowZine to create customized list of your favorite scholarly, peer-reviewed journals and News Sources (64 max), which you can access on the web (via BrowZine.com), through a mobile app, or both as it syncs your account across all devices.
Journals With Significant Content on US-Mexican (or Tijuana-San Diego) Border Issues
Publication Date: Tijuana, Baja California, México : Colegio de la Frontera Norte, 1989-
This link points to various electronic access points, including the Subscription-based aggregated database Academic Search Complete and the Open Access Resource REDALYC
Subject or Regionally Specific Resources for Finding Articles on the Border Region and Border Issues
americanismo (CEEIB and Redial)
Portal providing access to Latin American resources identified by two scholarly networks dedicated to scientific and academic cooperation between Spain and Latin America: the Consejo Español de Estudios Iberoamericano (CEEIB) and the Red Europea de Documentación de Información (Redial) sobre América Latina. Includes links to online periodicals, unpublished presentations, digital libraries, and bibliographic databases.
Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliographic index representing all types of material on Mexican-American topics. Provides extensive indexing from 1960s to the present; selective coverage back to early 1900s. Since 1992 includes articles on the broader Latino experience.
German collaborative project providing access to library catalogs, internet resource links, periodical databases; newspapers, and wikis with content for Latin America, Spain, and Portugal
ClasePeriodica This link opens in a new window
CLASE indexes articles published in over 1200 Latin American journals in the social sciences and humanities. PERIODICA covers over 1400 Latin American journals in science and technology. The merged database has over 400,00 citations dating back to 1975.
Consejo Latinoamericano de Ciencias Sociales (CLACSO) Virtual Library Database
Contains the publications of 159 research organizations in Latin America and the Caribbean that form the membership of CLACSO. Spanish Language.
Carries over 1100 open access e-journals, primarily written and published in the Spanish language. Dialnet is produced and hosted by the Universidad de La Rioja in Spain.
Handbook of Latin American Studies
The Handbook of Latin American Studies is an annotated bibliography of Latin American Studies literature produced by research librarians at the Library of Congress.
For the print version, see:
Handbook of Latin American studies. Austin [etc.] : University of Texas Press [etc.].
Geisel Reference, Request from SRLF ; Reference, Geisel Floor2 West, Offsite (SRLF) ; F1408 .H33 ; Library Use Only, AVAILABLE
Click on More for different ways to use
HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new window
1970-present. Lists journal articles on Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, the U.S.-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the U.S.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
Over 360 Spanish-language newspapers from 15 states (including California) published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Search, browse and view article and page images.
Sistema regional de información en linea para Revistas científicas de América Latina, el Caribe, Espana y Portugal; Regional system of online information for scientific magazines of Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal. Does not index at the article level. Allows for browsing and searching of periodicals by title, subject, region, country, and publisher. Excellent source to verify publication information.
Pew Hispanic Center This link opens in a new window
A non-partisan research organization to improve understanding of the U.S. Hispanic population and to chronicle Latinos' growing impact on the United States. Downloadable datasets include the 2004 National Survey of Latinos: Politics and Civic Participation, the 2004 National Survey of Latinos: Education, and the 2002 National Survey of Latinos
Scientific Electronic Library Online, covering over 400,000 articles from 1000 academic journals published in Latin America.
More General Databases Useful for Searches on the Borderlands Region and Borderlands Issues
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database with 17,800+ journals and magazines, of which 16,000+ are peer-reviewed and 8,750+ are full-text. Also included are books, conference papers and proceedings, government documents, newspapers, video content, and more. Coverage begins in 1887, with material in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
1895-present. International database for research on all periods of U.S. and Canadian history, including very recent years. Includes abstracts of journal articles and listings of books and dissertations. Over 1,800 journals are indexed.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Indexing database for anthropology, archaeology & related topics. Indexes articles in 2500+ scholarly journals, 1870 to present. Combines databases: Anthropological Literature (Harvard/Tozzer) and Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute)
OpenBibArt This link opens in a new window
OpenBibArt is a bibliographic database born out of a collaboration between the Institut National d’Histoire de l’Art (INHA), the Getty Research Institute (GRI) and the Institut de l’Information Scientifique et Technique of the CNRS (Inist-CNRS).
OpenBibArt reviews the literature on arts from Late Antiquity to the present day, providing access to close to 1.2 million of bibliographic records of periodicals, books, exhibition and auction catalogues, published between 1910 and 2007.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
Database indexing journal articles, books and other publications, covering all aspects of native North American culture and history. Includes materials published from 1500s to present.
Bibliography of World Slavery This link opens in a new window
Lists about 25,000 scholarly works published since 1900in all academic disciplines and in all western European languages on slavery and slaving, worldwide and throughout human history, including modern times.
CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
Full text of working papers, conference proceedings, policy briefs, economic indicators, and other resources in international affairs.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
1937 - present. Covers indexing of over 5000 journals in nursing and the allied health sciences, with full text for over 700 of those journals. Coverage includes nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative & complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Coverage varies, but some back to early 1900s. Articles in communication, mass media, linguistics, and film studies. CMMC offers cover-to-cover ("core") indexing and abstracts for over 370 journals, and selected ("priority") coverage of over 230 more, for a combined coverage of over 600 titles. Many journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable cited references from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915).
Communication Abstracts This link opens in a new window
1963-present. Abstracts articles, reports, papers, books from a variety of publishers and research institutions in all areas of communication studies (mass, interpersonal and new communication technologies).
Contemporary Women's Issues This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and some full-text articles from more than 1500 publications, offering a multidisciplinary focus on gender issues.
CQ Press Electronic Library This link opens in a new window
Find reporting, analysis on Congressional issues in the news and coverage of the status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, and backroom maneuvering. Includes:
CQ Researcher Plus Archive
Political Handbook of the World
Politics in America
Supreme Court Yearbook
Voting and Elections Collection
Criminology: A SAGE Full-text Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text of 17 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals go back 20 years. Subjects covered: Criminal Justice, Juvenile Delinquency & Justice, Corrections, Policing, Forensic Psychology, Family & Domestic Violence.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Abstracts journal articles, books, dissertations, and working papers in economics. New records added monthly. Produced by American Economic Association.
Economist Intelligence Unit (UCSD Portal) This link opens in a new window
Portal to UCSD-subscribed EIU content. Includes searchable online archive (1996- ) and feed of Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) global country publications. Strong on current political, economic, and business affairs worldwide.
Economist.com This link opens in a new window
Publisher portal to articles in Economist magazine (1997- ) plus related content. Our URL provides access to the restricted "premium content" inside. (Longer online runs of Economist articles are available via other databases; see Help Links.)
eHRAF Archaeology This link opens in a new window
Cross-cultural database containing information on the world's prehistory designed to facilitate comparative archaeological studies. Organized by archaeological traditions. The full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
Empire Online This link opens in a new window
A major collection of scanned texts relating to empire studies, divided into 5 sections: Cultural Contacts 1492-1969; Empire Writing/the Literature of Empire; The Visible Empire; Religion; and Race, class, imperialism and colonialism 1607-2007.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
1960-present. Full text U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European-American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Searchable in English and Spanish.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
Publications indexed are drawn from a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history, and social work. Covers 1970-present.
Pascal and Francis Bibliographic Databases This link opens in a new window
International index to journal articles published from 1972 to 2015, provides access to more than 20 million references in the humanities and social sciences, with special strength in religion, anthropology, history of art, literature, economics.
Gender and Land Rights Database
Provided by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, contains country level information on social, economic, political and cultural issues as it relates to gender inequalities.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
A full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. 1970s-present.
Dance in Video This link opens in a new window
Dance in Video contains five hundred hours of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century, including ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
1863-present. International database for research on history of all regions (except the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the current decade. Content includes
indexing of historical articles from more than 2,300 journals in over 40 languages.
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full-Text This link opens in a new window
The definitive research tool for studying Theatre and Dance. Includes almost 500 full-text titles: 170 full-text journals and 360 full-text books. 126 countries are represented.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search by subject or browse 2,600+ full-text titles, predominantly scholarly journals and books in social sciences, history, humanities, and science and mathematics, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years often not included. JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Military & Government Collection
Offers current news on all branches of the military and government through a collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The primary database of citations to journal articles, monographs, book chapters, and dissertations in the fields of non-Classical
literatures and folklore. Important source for linguistics and non-technical aspects of theater & film. Ca. 1890 - present.
PAIS Archive This link opens in a new window
Lists articles, books, and government publications on issues of public policy, including politics, government, economy, marine policy, law.
PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service) This link opens in a new window
1972-present. Lists print and electronic articles, books, and government publications on issues of public policy, including politics, government, economy, marine policy, law.
Project Muse: Scholarly Journals and Books Online This link opens in a new window
Search by subject or browse full text scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. More than 700 journals from over 250 university presses and scholarly publishers are available. Coverage begins 1906 or later, depending on the publication. UCSD also has access to over 30,000 book titles.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
1963-present. Abstracts journal articles, monographs, dissertations, conference proceedings, other research covering sociology, social work, and related social sciences. Also includes selected web resources.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 18,000 journals in all subjects (coverage back to 1900 for science and social science journals), as well as 80,000 books and more than 180K conference proceedings. Includes the popular "cited reference search" to identify papers which have cited a previously published work or author. Can also sort by "times cited" and find related articles based on commonly cited works.
Psychology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection This link opens in a new window
1941-present. Provides full text of over 30 journals published by SAGE and participating societies. Articles are indexed in PsycINFO.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
1894-present. A database of full-text articles from more than 100 journals published by the American Psychological Assoc., the APA Educational Publ. Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Assoc., Hogrefe Publishing Group, and the National Institute of Mental Health. Updated weekly. Articles are indexed in PsycINFO.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
1597-present. From the American Psychological Association. Provides access to scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations. Includes approximately 2,500 journals. Updated weekly.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
1972-present. Abstracts of journal articles, books and other materials drawn from a variety of women's studies databases, including Womens Studies Abstracts (1984-present).