Skip to Main Content
The Library

US-Mexican Border Studies: Research Sites in Baja California

Research Sites in Tijuana

1. Archivo Histórico de Tijuana

Located in the Instituto Municipal de Arte y Cultura (IMAC)

Calle Benito Juárez 2da, Zona Centro, Centro, 22000 Tijuana, B.C., Mexico

+52 664 685 0140

The IMAC is housed in the historic and beautiful Palacio Municipal of Tijuana.  This building housed the Ayuntamiento (City Council) until 1986.  The IMAC  and includes the Braulio Maldonado Library, archive, and high-quality city museum. 

Archival Collections include:

1) a significant amount of music in various formats (disc, cassette, records) – including samples of local rock groups, newspapers, comics, and magazines belonging to Octavio Herández, who produced a radio program and the Revista Tijuaneo.  This collection is significant because in the mid 20th century Tijuana was a mecca of international Rock.

2) A number of newspapers ranging widely in date.  Please note that this is a rough list and may have errors:

  • ABC 1999, 2000-2016
  • Diario ’99 1991-1994
  • Dictadura (seminal cultural) 1996-2003
  • Frontera 1999-2016
  • El Heraldo (1941-2000)
  • El Mexicano (1995-2016)
  • El Sol de Tijuana 1996-2011, 2012-2016
  • La Voz de la Fontera (Mexicali) 1964-1981, 2000
  • Zeta (which UCSD microfilms) – weekly newspaper – critical of politics narcotraffic, also provides important cultural commentary (1993-2001, 2016)

3) Private/personal archives, especially of elite families, which include photographs and correspondence. 

4) Alejandro Lugo’s rich photograph collection

5) A Fototeca of collections that vary significantly in breadth, nature, and quality

6) City Directories

7) Oral Histories

8) A Vertical Archive of private documents and newspaper articles

9) National and State Government periodicals including the Diario Oficial Nacional and Periodico Oficial de Baja California

10) Municipal Archives; some of these have been virtually untouched and would be very useful for many kinds of history, including economic, political, and social

  • Permisos ambulantes (1957-1983)
  • Sindicatos (for example: for workers in transporte (including 1 composed only of women), ciegos, bars & cantinas)
  • Abarrotes y mercados
  • Becas y certificados
  • Hoteles
  • Loncherías
  • Expedientes personales de empleos municipios 1933-1984 (including a letter of initiation of employment, and varying information on the tenure of employment, nature of work, achievements, and pay)
  • Nómina (payroll) for municipal employees
  • Amparo – documentation of legal action taken against the municipality (for example land and business disputes)
  • Comision Box (Lucha Libre) 1958-1987
  • Police reports

 

2. Biblioteca y Hemeroteca Benito Juárez

Avenida Centenario 10151 Zona Urbana Río

Tijuana,Baja California, México.

C.P.22010

www.cecut.gob.mx

+52 664 684 2691

The Biblbioteca and Hemeroteca Municipal are part of the Instituto de cultura de Baja California (which provides galleries and exhibits, spaces for projects and Events, and offers clases.  It is located near the new Ayuntamiento (Municipal Palace) and administrative offices for the Department of Public Education.  

 

3. The Centro Cultural de Tijuana (CECUT)

Paseo de los Héroes 9350, Zona Urbana Rio Tijuana, 22010 Tijuana, BC, Mexico

+52 664 687 9600

The Centro Cultural de Tijuana (CECUT) houses the Museo de las californias and an excellent Conaculta/Educal Bookstore.  

 

4. Casa de Cultura Jurídica

Paseo de los Héroes 9351

Zona Río, Zona Urbana Rio

Tijuana, B.C., Mexico

+52 664 200 2264

This houses an Archivo Historico of legal material from 1881-1951, a Fototeca, and a Videoteca

 

5. Universidad Autónoma de Baja California

Biblioteca

Instituto de Investigaciónes Históricas [UABC Históricas] (IIHUABC) 

Circuito Universidad

Archives Include Microfilm Copies of:

  • Sección del Archivo General de la Nación de Baja California, particularmente del ramo archival “Poder Ejecutivo”
  • Archivos Juidicales de Ensenada (Cabezera de Baja California Sur entre aproximadamente 1870 y 1960)
  • Archivos Personales de Abelardo Rodriguez, Gobernador de Baja California y Presidente de México durante el Maximato (1932-1934)
  • Selecciónes del Archivo Histórico de La Paz

There are also significant newspaper holdings

 

6. CETYS

Biblioteca - Catalogo

 

7. El Colegio de la Frontera Norte (COLEF)

Biblioteca - Catalogo

 

8. Universidad Ibero Americana

Biblioteca - Catalogo

Research SItes in Mexico Along the Border

Below is information on several Libraries, Archives, Organizations, and Academic Institutions situated along the In the Mexican and US Border regions of Baja California and San Diego County that may hold resources useful for your research.  They are also marked on the linked Google Map to help you navigate the city to visit them.