See also the Legal Information Tab/Page on this guide.
Please note that because the Department of Justice and Department of Homeland Security are Executive Federal Agencies, Regulatory Law (found in the Code of Federal Regulations and Federal Register) plays an important role in shaping immigration policy.
In addition, the linked essay may be helpful to understand current (2018-) Logistics and Realities of Regulatory Reforms to Deter Immigrants from Soliciting and Securing Asylum (focused on Central American migrants, but applicable individuals and groups representing other ethnicities and nationalities)
The International Migration and Statistics Research Guide
The Government Resources Tab (a drop-down tab from Primary Sources) on this Guide
The Legal Material Tab (a drop-down tab from Primary Sources) on the Latin American Studies Research Guide
The Human Rights Research Guide
Seminar on the Acquisition of Latin American Library Materials (SALALM ) Action Guide to Immigrant Advocacy Very useful guide (with a link for ongoing editions) identifying resources to learn more about the situation of detainees on the Southern US border, organizations to support, and methods to advocate for better policies and humane treatment of undocumented immigrants.
The Torn Apart Project: This website uses digital technologies to map the significance of US Immigration and Cutoms Enforcement (ICE) detention centers. Volume I locates all ICE detention centers on a US map, and provides additional access points to alternative views of the ICE landscape, including information such as photographs and data. The Allies tab links to a directory of organizations providing various kinds of support to undocumented immigrants. Volume II digs deeper, tracing the financial context of ICE; who has funded and who has profited from this phenomenon, including the role of money, businesses, and politicians and government agencies.
A collection that explores and provides historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; Thailand; and others. Featuring at completion 100,000 pages of text, 175 hours of video, and 1,000 images, the collection is organized around fundamental themes associated with border and migration issues.
1972-present. Lists print and electronic articles, books, and government publications on issues of public policy, including politics, government, economy, marine policy, law.
1975-present. Research within the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Use the Get it at UC button to find full text, print, and/or request the item from another library.
ICE Annual Reports provide overviews of ICE's internal organization (IE various divisions and departments) and programs as well as statistics on ICE activity, such as
Full text of law reviews/legal periodicals plus primary sources such as the Code of Federal Regulations; Federal Register; Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS); Treaties and Agreements Library; United States Code; U.S. Attorney General Opinions; U.S. Congressional Documents; U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals; U.S. Federal Legislative History Library; U.S. Statutes at Large; State Session Laws Library; State Statutes: A Historical Archive; Acts of the Parliament of Canada (Annual Statutes); World Constitutions Illustrated; World Treaty Library. Also includes special topics databases.
UC Hastings College of the Law Center for Gender and Refugee Studies
CA Demographic Reports -- Immigration and Migration
Demographic research and analysis extracted from the 1990, 2000, and 2010 Censuses, the American Community Survey, various years of the Current Population Survey, Annual Social and Economic Supplement, and migration (which describes movements within the same country or state) and immigration (which describes movements between countries)
LInks to Information on Migration and Refugees emphasizing and examining the situation from a human rights angle
