Disability Studies: Primary sources, journals and databases

Primary Sources

Disability in the Modern World
One person in seven experiences disability, yet the story of this community and its contributions is largely absent from the scholarly record. This is an online collection with a comprehensive and international set of resources to enrich study in a wide range of disciplines from media studies to philosophy.

At completion, Disability in the Modern World will include 150,000 pages of primary sources, supporting materials, and archives, along with 125 hours of video. The content provides resources for teaching and research in the growing disciplines of disability history and disability studies as well as in history, media, the arts, political science, education, and other areas where the contributions of the disability community are typically overlooked.

Theses and Dissertations

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
Ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Where available, it provides 24-page previews. Most UC dissertations from mid-1990s forward are available for full-text PDF download.
WorldCat Dissertations and Theses
This database provides fast and convenient access to the dissertations and theses available in OCLC member libraries. Many theses are available electronically, at no charge, directly from the publishing institution.

Journals

Canadian journal of disability studies
A peer-reviewed original articles that advance research in the multidisciplinary, international field of disability studies. The journal embraces a wide range of methodologies and perspectives, values collaborative and cross-disciplinary work, community partnership, and creative approaches to scholarship.
Disability and Society
A disability studies journal providing a focus for debate about such issues as human rights, discrimination, policy and practices.
Disability Studies Quarterly
A multidisciplinary and international journal of interest to social scientists, scholars in the humanities, disability rights advocates, creative writers, and others concerned with the issues of people with disabilities. It represents the full range of methods, epistemologies, perspectives, and content that the multidisciplinary field of disability studies embraces.
Journal of literary & cultural disability studies
This journal publishes a wide variety of textual analyses that are informed by disability theory and, by extension, experiences of disability. It is an essential disability studies journal for scholars whose work concentrates on the portrayal of disability. More broadly, it is instrumental in the interdisciplinarity of literary studies, cultural studies, and disability studies.

Databases

Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database with 17,800+ journals and magazines, of which 16,000+ are peer-reviewed and 8,750+ are full-text. Also included are books, conference papers and proceedings, government documents, newspapers, video content, and more. Coverage begins in 1887, with material in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.
Humanities Full-Text
Includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals—of which 470 are peer-reviewed—dating as far back as 1984.
JSTOR
Search by subject or browse 2,600+ full-text titles, predominantly scholarly journals and books in social sciences, history, humanities, and science and mathematics, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years often not included. JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
PsycINFO
1597-present. From the American Psychological Association. Provides access to scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations. Includes approximately 2,500 journals. Updated weekly and includes an index of PsycArticles.
Social Sciences Full Text
Indexes and provides abstracts of articles published since 1983 in over 700 social sciences journals, with full-text provided for most articles published from 1994+.