Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Disability Studies Reader
Call Number: online
Publication Date: 2010
The Disability Studies Readeris the most comprehensive introduction to in disability studies. The collection covers cultural studies, identity politics, literary criticism, sociology, philosophy, anthropology, the visual arts, gender and race studies, as well as memoir, poetry, fiction, and prose non-fiction.
Encyclopedia of Disability
Call Number: online
Publication Date: 2005
This encyclopedia represents the first attempt to bring an authoritative reference resource to the many faces of disability. More than 500 world-renowned scholars have written over 1,000 entries --in a clear, accessible style--with the desire to bring all students, researchers, and interested readers closer to the daily experience of disability. Covers disability A to Z, including a reader's guide, comprehensive bibliography, and index. Contains a wealth of primary source documents in the field of disability.
The Oxford Handbook of Disability History
Publication Date: 2018
Disability history exists outside of the institutions, healers, and treatments it often brings to mind. It is a history where the disabled live not just as patients or cure-seekers, but rather as people living differently in the world - and it is also a history that helps define thefundamental concepts of identity, community, citizenship, and normality.The Oxford Handbook of Disability History is the first volume of its kind to represent this history and its global scale, from ancient Greece to British West Africa. The twenty-seven articles, written by thirty experts from across the field, capture the diversity and liveliness of this emergingscholarship. Whether discussing disability in modern Chinese cinema or on the American antebellum stage, this collection provides new and valuable insights into the rich and varied lives of the disabled across time and place.
The Oxford Handbook of Positive Psychology and Disability
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2013
This volume assembles chapters by leading scholars in the fields of disability and positive psychology to provide a comprehensive synthesis of the state of the field of positive psychology and disability. Chapters are organized into thematic sections, beginning with an introductory section providinginformation on overarching themes in positive psychology and disability. The second section highlights the application of positive psychological constructs to disability, including quality of life, self-determination, adaptive behavior, optimism, hope, problem solving, forgiveness, gratitude, andspirituality. The following section addresses systemic issues in disability that impact positive psychology, again turning to disciplines beyond just psychology (special education, rehabilitation sciences, family, and disability policy) to address areas in which positive psychology can be applied. Afourth section examines positive psychology in specific disabled populations, including physical disabilities, cognitive and developmental disabilities, severe multiple disabilities, emotional and behavioral disabilities, and autism spectrum disorders.Disability has always been associated with "differentness" and, consequently, people with disabilities have, throughout time, been treated as such.
Routledge Handbook of Disability Studies
Publication Date: 2019
This fully revised and expanded second edition of the Routledge Handbook of Disability Studies takes a multidisciplinary approach to disability and provides an authoritative and up-to-date overview of the main issues in the field around the world today. Adopting an international perspective and arranged thematically, it surveys the state of the discipline, examining emerging and cutting-edge areas as well as core areas of contention. Divided in five parts, this comprehensive handbook covers: Different models and approaches to disability. How key impairment groups have engaged with disability studies and the writings within the discipline. Policy and legislation responses to disability studies and to disability activism. Disability studies and its interaction with other disciplines, such as history, philosophy, sport, and science and technology studies. Disability studies and different life experiences, examining how disability and disability studies intersects with ethnicity, sexuality, gender, childhood and ageing. Containing 15 revised chapters and 12 new chapters from an international selection of leading scholars, this authoritative handbook is an invaluable reference for all academics, researchers, and more advanced students in disability studies and associated disciplines such as sociology, health studies and social work.