Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Latin American Indigenous Studies, Languages and Literature: Finding Books

An introductory guide to doing research on Latin American Indigenous authors, languages, and literature

Finding Books

There are many resources to use to find books at UCSD, as well as in the broader San Diego, California, and Global Community.  UC Library Search (displayed and accessed at the center of the UC Library Homepage) allows users to search the local UCSD and UC wide catalogs.  UC Library Search also incorporates records from many databases (so you can search for articles at the same time that you search for books, microform, government documents, and more) and it also includes faceting, which helps you to narrow down the results of your search by format, subject, or other criteria.  In addition, it is possible to expand a UC Library Search to include global results via WorldCat.  See also the Keyword Search Strategies and Tools Box by Scrolling Down on the Search Strategies tab of this guide.

PLEASE CONSULT THE ATTACHED GOOGLE DOCUMENT FOR DETAILED INSTRUCTIONS ON USING UC LIBRARY SEARCH.

UC Library Search

UC Library Search UC Library Search includes all UC Libraries and some of Worldcat

UC Library Search, accessible from the search box on the library's homepage, helps you locate books, film, music, maps, and various other materials at the UC San Diego Library and beyond. It also contains a limited number of online journals and newspaper articles. You may search by keyword, title, and author, and filter your search to what is available online. You can also place an interlibrary loan request through UC Library Search for materials at other UC campuses or libraries worldwide using your Single Sign-On credentials.

 

Search Tips 

  • Sign in to access full results lists, electronic resources, request items, and save records. To access electronic resources, you must be logged into the VPN.
  • Capitalize the operators AND, OR, NOT when combining key search terms.
  • To request items that the Library doesn't have click the Request button.
  • Click Digitalization to request scans of print book chapters or print articles.

 

UC Library Search is one part of your complete search.

 

UC Library Search does not include all the content to which the Library subscribes. To extend your search, try a database. The database you use depends on the topic or subject you have chosen and the type of information you need to access. You may choose among broad subject areas (e.g., biology, art, political science, etc.), as well as interdisciplinary databases or ones that search across multiple disciplines. 

You must also be logged into the VPN to access the information for any database with a blue lock icon. blue locked padlock

A-Z Databases

More Places to Find Books

Other resources, including HaithiTrust, Cibera, and the Handbook of Latin American Studies provide additional citations:

HathiTrust 

HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository and an access platform. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and copyrighted content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives. Content is full-text searchable; most items published before 1923 are full-text viewable and downloadable.

WorldCat 

This is a world-wide, consortial catalog of OCLC member libraries that includes over 50 million online records in multiple formats. MELVYL (The University of California Libraries) is a selection of WorldCat records. This is the best place to look for a particular source that is not held in California, or to do a search by subject heading(s) to find materials outside of California. The link above brings you into one of two versions of WorldCat provided by UCSD Library. For the other, click on Databases A-Z and choose the WorldCat FirstSearch option. This allows you to see more more details about and to have more options in searching for similar records.

cibera 

German collaborative project providing access to library catalogs, internet resource links, periodical databases; newspapers, and wikis with content for Latin America, Spain, and Portugal

Handbook of Latin American Studies 

The Handbook of Latin American Studies is an annotated bibliography of Latin American Studies literature produced by research librarians at the Library of Congress.

For the print version, see:
Handbook of Latin American studies. Austin [etc.] : University of Texas Press [etc.].
Geisel Reference, Request from SRLF ; Reference, Geisel Floor2 West, Offsite (SRLF) ; F1408 .H33 ; Library Use Only, AVAILABLE

UN Collection on Critical Global Issues 

Collection of free ebooks on many topics throughout the world