LibGuides: LTEN 222: Global Shakespeare: Articles

Finding an Article from a Citation

Citation Linker

Use Citation Linker to find articles, books, and other materials at UCSD or UC wide. This is particularly useful with the World Shakespeare Bibliography which is not connected to UCe-links.

Google Scholar

Add UCe-links to Google Scholar by clicking on the Menu icon on scholar.google.com. Then open Settings and then Library Links. Search for "University of California, San Diego" , select it, and then click Save.

Most Useful Databases

World Shakespeare Bibliography
Specialized, but more comprehensive for Shakespeare and some other Early Modern drama topics than MLA. Includes contemporary production reviews as well as scholarly articles and books. Available on both campuses.
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL)
Indexes books, articles, literary works, book reviews and essays, 1920+
MLA International Bibliography
The primary database of citations to journal articles, monographs, book chapters, and dissertations in the fields of non-Classical
literatures and folklore. Important source for linguistics and non-technical aspects of theater & film. Ca. 1890 - present.

Useful Journals:

In the Glassy Margents The official digital presence of The Shakespeare Newsletter. News, book reviews, theater reviews.
Borrowers and Lenders: The Journal of Shakespeare and Appropriation. A peer-reviewed, online-only, multimedia Shakespeare journal. Indexed in the MLA Bibliography, ABELL, and World Shakespeare Bibliography.
Shakespeare Quarterly Founded in 1950 by the Shakespeare Association of America, Shakespeare Quarterly is a refereed journal committed to publishing articles in the vanguard of Shakespeare studies.The Quarterly, produced by Folger Shakespeare Library features notes that bring to light new information on Shakespeare and his age, issue and exchange sections for the latest ideas and controversies, theater reviews of significant Shakespeare productions, and book reviews to keep its readers current with Shakespeare criticism and scholarship.

Find articles in multidisciplinary resources

Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database with 17,800+ journals and magazines, of which 16,000+ are peer-reviewed and 8,750+ are full-text. Also included are books, conference papers and proceedings, government documents, newspapers, video content, and more. Coverage begins in 1887, with material in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.
Google Scholar
Search for scholarly publications across disciplines & sources: articles, theses/dissertations, books, and more, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities etc. Use Scholar Settings-->Library Links option to setup "University of California, San Diego - Get it at UC" and if you are searching from off campus, log in to the VPN to get full access to UC San Diego subscribed article content.
JSTOR
Search by subject or browse 2,600+ full-text titles, predominantly scholarly journals and books in social sciences, history, humanities, and science and mathematics, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years often not included. JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Periodicals Index Online
1665-1995. Index to 22 million articles from over 7,000 North American and European scholarly journals in arts, humanities, social sciences; 30 percent non-English language.
Project Muse: Scholarly Journals and Books Online
Search by subject or browse full text scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. More than 700 journals from over 250 university presses and scholarly publishers are available. Coverage begins 1906 or later, depending on the publication. UCSD also has access to over 30,000 book titles.
Web of Science
Indexes over 18,000 journals in all subjects (coverage back to 1900 for science and social science journals), as well as 80,000 books and more than 180K conference proceedings. Includes the popular "cited reference search" to identify papers which have cited a previously published work or author. Can also sort by "times cited" and find related articles based on commonly cited works.

LTEN 222: Global Shakespeare: Articles

Finding an Article from a Citation

Google Scholar

Most Useful Databases

Useful Journals:

In the Glassy Margents The official digital presence of The Shakespeare Newsletter. News, book reviews, theater reviews.

Find articles in multidisciplinary resources