Ecology & Environmental Science: Journal Article Databases

Resources for anyone interested in ecology and environmental science disciplines

Getting Full Text Articles

The full text of an article within a database is provided in multiple formats. Look for:

An HTML link
PDF link
Link to Get it at UC

The Get it at UC link will provide you options for how to access the full text of the article. If there are no online links available, this means you need to request the item through Interlibrary Loan if a print version is not available at UC San Diego. The Library will deliver the full text of an article to you free of charge. When requesting you will need your Library ID number.

Your library card/account number begins with "21822" and can be found on the back of your UCSD ID card or within the UCSD app. Enter the 14-digit number without spaces.

Databases for Finding Journal Articles

Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA)
The ASFA database is a premier source for aquatic resources, covering over 7,000 journals, books, reports, & conference proceedings mainly from 1971 - to present, with some coverage back to the 1800s. This database is ideal for research in the areas of aquaculture, aquatic organisms, aquatic pollution, conservation, fisheries, marine biotechnology, oceanography, policy & legislation, and wildlife management.
Consult the ProQuest online guide for help searching this database, features for refining your search, saving results as alerts or RSS feeds, and emailing or downloading your search & results: https://proquest.libguides.com/asfa
BIOSIS Citation Index
BIOSIS coverage is from 1926 to present and includes around 6,000 journals, conference proceedings, books, & technical reports in all aspects of biological sciences. The BIOSIS Citation Index database is an excellent database for all biological information, including marine biology, biological oceanography, marine ecology, developmental biology, and molecular biology. The platform also includes a version called BIOSIS Previews which lacks some cited-reference search abilities.
Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database
Combined search for 1) Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA), 2) Oceanic Abstracts, and 3) Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA). It provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. The database includes specialized references and resources studying the critical issues affecting Earth’s air, land, and water environments. Coverage is from 1950 - present.
Environment Complete
Offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. It contains more than 2.5 million records from more than 2,350 domestic and international titles dating back to 1888. Formerly Environment Index.
GeoRef
The GeoRef database contains over 3 million references from around 3,500 journals, technical reports, books, and theses. Use GeoRef to find journal articles in geology, seismology, marine geology, geophysics, paleontology, petrology and geological maps, going as far back as 1669 for some topics. Use the Get it at UC button in your search results list to find the full text of the articles.
Consult the ProQuest online guide for help searching this database, features for refining your search, saving results as alerts or RSS feeds, and emailing or downloading your search & results: https://proquest.libguides.com/georef
National Agricultural Library
USDA National Agricultural Library’s main search tool. It provides simple, one-stop access to more than 8 million records covering all aspects of agriculture and related disciplines.. Includes AGRICOLA (catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library) and PubAg (peer reviewed journal article citations including open access articles resulting from USDA-funded research).

PAIS International
The PAIS International database contains continually updated records for over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more, on public affairs and policy from 1972+. Coverage includes conservation, energy resources, marine policy, coastal zone development, etc. and newly available the PAIS Archive, a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, published 1915-1976.

Web of Science
Indexes over 18,000 journals in all subjects (coverage back to 1900 for science and social science journals), as well as 80,000 books and more than 180K conference proceedings. Includes the popular "cited reference search" to identify papers which have cited a previously published work or author. Can also sort by "times cited" and find related articles based on commonly cited works.
Zoological Record
The Zoological Record database has extensive coverage of zoology from 1864-present. Indexes over 4,500 journals, books, conference papers, & selected dissertations in zoology, and includes a very good subject vocabulary and helpful taxonomic hierarchies.

Databases A-Z
The UC San Diego Library's "Databases A-Z" listing is a comprehensive list of journal article (abstracting and indexing) databases, in all fields, available for your use.