Skip to main content
Best places to start looking for properties of chemicals and materials.
You can locate property data for your compound through a substance search in the 165-million compound CAS Registry. Experimental and predicted data can be found in the substance record, with literature references for the experimental data. You can also search SciFinder by research topic, which can be helpful if you're searching for a broad group of properties and/or group of compounds, like enthalpy of halogenated benzenes
or mechanical properties of carbonitrides
. SciFinder requires a one-time registration
Database of 32 million compounds (plus another 110 million from PubChem and eMolecules), many with experimental property data. Every property fact is associated with at least one article or patent reference. The easiest way to search is by substance, then bring up the record and browse the available properties, including physical, electrical, chromatographic, magnetic, spectra, optical, and thermodynamic. You can also search by one or more properties using the query builder.
Collection of 8000+ handbooks and databases for chemistry and engineering, including a large number property data sources. From Material Property Search, enter your material/substance, then browse and select from the list of available properties grouped by category (electrical, mechanical, thermal/thermodynamic, etc.). Data is presented in interactive, downloadable tables, and in some cases interactive graphs. For chemicals, there's also the Open Chemicals Materials Search, NIST's database of thermodynamic data for 27,000 compounds. Click more to see some of the key titles.
Single search for CRC's collection of chemical information databases. Includes CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics, Combined Chemical Dictionary, Properties of Organic Compounds, and Polymers: A Property Database.
Open chemistry database of 96+ million compounds, with property and safety data coming from multiple data sources, including government agencies, R&D organizations, and chemical vendors.
Landolt-Börnstein (via SpringerMaterials)
Extensive collection of physical property data. IMPORTANT: This series is now part of SpringerMaterials, which we don't license. However, you can still search the SpringerMaterials database
for your compound and property. If the document you need is from a pre-2010 volume of Landolt-Börnstein, you can access it online via Portico
. Make sure you note the Landolt volume and document name (often the compound in question) from your SpringerMaterials search, which you'll need when you browse the volumes in Portico. Instructions on searching SpringerMaterials to locate a Landolt-Börnstein chapter in Portico
Properties database covering 115,000 engineering materials: metals, polymers, ceramics, composites, and more. Free to search and use, with an option to register for added functionality.