LibGuides: SOC 188E: Community and Social Change in Africa: Finding Scholarly Articles

Finding Articles-- Sociology

UCSD Libraries subscribe to several databases specific to Sociology. Databases contain articles that have been published in scholarly journals. These are just a few recommended for your research. Use the yellow UC-eLinks button to find the online full text or print articles when the article isn't automatically available full text in the database.

Databases A-Z: https://ucsd.libguides.com/az.php

Sociological Abstracts
1963-present. Abstracts journal articles, monographs, dissertations covering sociology, social work, and related social sciences.

Finding Articles--General and Interdisciplinary

The following databases look at all areas of the social sciences, humanities and arts and also general interest publications. With one search, you may be able to pull out research from many different disciplines.

Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database with 17,800+ journals and magazines, of which 16,000+ are peer-reviewed and 8,750+ are full-text. Also included are books, conference papers and proceedings, government documents, newspapers, video content, and more. Coverage begins in 1887, with material in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.
JSTOR
Search by subject or browse 2,600+ full-text titles, predominantly scholarly journals and books in social sciences, history, humanities, and science and mathematics, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years often not included. JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

Finding Articles--Specific Subjects

Depending on your specific area of research, you may want to look in related disciplines and fields of study. The following databases cover a larger number of publications than more general databases.

Anthropology Plus
Indexing database for anthropology, archaeology & related topics. Indexes articles in 2500+ scholarly journals, 1870 to present. Combines databases: Anthropological Literature (Harvard/Tozzer) and Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute)
AnthroSource
Current issues of American Anthropological Association's journals and bulletins as well as archived issues of all the AAA's journals, newsletters and bulletins. Journal issues generally appear online prior to distribution in print.
Africa-Wide Information
19th century-present. Incorporates African Studies and South African Studies databases. Sources include books, periodicals and magazines articles, newspapers, pamphlets, maps, reports, and theses. Nearly 2 million records
America: History and Life
1964-present. International database for research on all periods of U.S. and Canadian history, including very recent years. Includes abstracts of journal articles and listings of books and dissertations.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) via ProQuest *Preferred Platform* (1966-present)
1966-present. Educational Resources Information Center is a database sponsored by the U.S. Dept of Education to provide access to educational-related literature. Includes citations and abstracts to journal articles (EJ) and documents (ED) in education.

Ethnic NewsWatch
1960-present. Full text U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European-American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Searchable in English and Spanish.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide
Publications indexed are drawn from a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history, and social work. Covers 1970-present
GenderWatch
A full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. 1970s-present.

Historical Abstracts
1954-present. An international database for research on the history of all regions (except the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the current decade.
PAIS Archive
1915-1976. Lists articles, books, and government publications on issues of public policy, including politics, government, economy, marine policy, law.
PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)
1972-present. Lists print and electronic articles, books, and government publications on issues of public policy, including politics, government, economy, marine policy, law
Women's Studies International
1972-present. Abstracts of journal articles, books and other materials drawn from a variety of women's studies databases, including Womens Studies Abstracts
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
1975-present. Research within the political science
discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.