Film, Video, & Streaming Media Collections: Streaming Media Collections

Film Request Form

Please use the Request a Film form if you need access to a film that is not currently available in the Library. Due to budget constraints, we may not be able to honor all requests.

Streaming media collections

American History in Video
American History in Video provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and the presentation of historical events over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
Docuseek2 Complete Collection
Stream documentary and social issues films. Topics covered include business and economics, health care, humanities, performing arts, and social sciences.
Drama Online
Features many collections of playtexts, filmed productions, audio plays, and more. Thousands of titles are offered, including new plays.
Electronic Arts Intermix (EAI), Educational Streaming Site
Founded in 1971, Electronic Arts Intermix (EAI) is a nonprofit resource that fosters the creation, exhibition, distribution and preservation of media art. The full collection of the EAI is recognized as one of the largest and most comprehensive resources for video art and moving image media in the world. Spanning the mid-1960s to the present, the full collection features over 3,500 experimental media artworks by 200 artists. The Educational Streaming Site is a new initiative of the EAI that includes selected titles from the full collection.
Ethnographic Video Online: Festivals and Archives
This collection provides a space for visual anthropologists of today to showcase and disseminate their most compelling work. With a focus on curating award-winning titles from contemporary ethnographic film festivals, this content will capture students’ attention by connecting them with topics familiar to their own time and place.
Ethnographic Video Online: Foundational Films
Database of anthropological documentary films, covering every region of the world, featuring the work of many influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century. Includes transcripts, interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, etc. As of August 2015, has 1,844 videos (1,319 hours). Individual films are also cataloged in UC Library Search - as "Alexander Street Press. Ethnographic online videos"
Ethnographic Video Online: Indigenous Voices
The role of the traditional ethnographer is changing as the perspectives and epistemologies of indigenous peoples have taken on central significance in the discipline, challenging earlier representations and implicit “us versus them” constructs. In order to create a platform for indigenous voices to address issues from indigenous perspectives, we have dedicated the third volume of the ethnographic film series to indigenous filmmakers.
Films on Demand
Contains outstanding educational programs. Many programs from the History Channel, Biography Channel, BBC, PBS and other news channels are included in this collection.
Kanopy
The videos come from leading producers such as the BBC, California Newsreel, Criterion Collection, First Run Features, Kino Lorber and PBS, with more content added each year. Many of the films are from independent and specialty producers, with a focus on documentary films.
Music Online: Opera in Video
Streaming videos of important opera performances from some of the world's leading opera houses, also interviews and documentaries. This growing database will contain approximately 250 opera titles.
PBS Video Collection
This collection of more than 1,600 streaming videos provides an exceptional range of content with the most valuable video documentaries and series from PBS. From science to history, art to Shakespeare, diversity to business & economics, and more.
Silent Film Online
The database covers silent features, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s.
Socialism on Film
Socialism on Film is collection of documentaries, newsreels and features that reveals the world as seen by Soviet, Chinese, Vietnamese, East European, British and Latin American filmmakers. It ranges from the early twentieth century to the 1980s and examines the themes of War & Revolution, News & Current Affairs plus Culture & Society. The whole spectrum of socialist life is here on film.
Sourced from the archives of the British Film Institute (BFI), this resource makes available the superb ETV-Plato Films collection amassed by British communist Stanley Forman in the years following the Second World War. The collection consists of films produced almost exclusively in the communist world and later versioned into English for distribution in the West. All the films included in this resource have been digitized from the original 16mm and 35mm film reels.
Swank Digital Campus
Hundreds of streaming video titles from major studios.
Theatre in Video
Hundreds of the world’s most important plays, documentaries, interviews, and instructional materials in more than 550 hours of streaming video. These definitive performances, by leading actors and directors, have been painstakingly licensed from a wide range of copyright holders. From celebrated productions of Shakespeare to rare, in-depth footage of the work of Samuel Beckett, the collection covers a wide range of 20th century theatre history. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances, deliver an authentic, behind-the-scenes look at hundreds of productions.
Vanderbilt Television News Archive
1968-present. Browse or search summaries of evening network news programs for ABC, CBS and NBC from 1968, CNN from 1995, Fox News from 2004. Streaming video for CNN and NBC only. The world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. From the videotape archives maintained by Vanderbilt University.