Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Library (Geisel 1st Floor West) provides playback stations for audiovisual materials from its collections (including reserve items). Format support includes DVD, Blu-ray, and VHS.
Screening of 16mm films must be arranged in advance by submitting the 16mm viewing request form.
Streaming Resources (UCSD only)
American History in Video
Coverage of historical events through documentaries, commercial and government newsreels, and archival and public affairs footage.
Docuseek2 Complete Collection
Discover, access, license, stream and share over 1500 documentary and social issues films and videos. This database provides educational streaming access to content from Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films (including The Fanlight Collection and dGenerate Films), Kartemquin Films, MediaStorm, the National Film Board of Canada, Scorpion TV, Sincerely Films, Terra Nova Films and Villon Films. Topics covered include business and economics, health care, humanities, performing arts, and social sciences. Docuseek2 supports the ability to create clips, playlists, and save searches of the films and videos available through this website.
Includes videos of plays from across the history of the theatre, ranging from Aeschylus to the present day.
Electronic Arts Intermix
A selective resource for streaming video and media art.
Ethnographic Video Online
Over 1,300 hours of streaming video, including ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork
Films on Demand - Master Academic Collection
Digital video streaming service which offers access to educational videos from a variety of producers including A&E, PBS, the BBC, National Geographic, HBO Documentary Films, Bill Moyers, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, and more. The Master Academic Collection brings together over 25,000 videos from many areas of study, including health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, science & mathematics, business & economics, as well as archival films & newsreels.
Films on Demand - World Cinema Collection
This unique collection includes the best of the silent era, groundbreaking international directors, masterpieces from the mid-20th century, and contemporary films from around the world, including Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America, the Caribbean, the Middle East, and North America.
Streaming video service of select documentaries, art house, and indie films.
March of Time
Newsreels from 1935-1967.
Opera in Video
500 hours of important opera performances and related material, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries.
Silent Film Online
Extensive collection of silent feature films, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s.
Socialism on Film
This collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba.
Swank Digital Campus
Provides colleges and universities with the "Top 500" titles in Swank's extensive catalog of narrative features and documentaries.
Theatre in Video
Over 250 of the world‘s leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, more than 500 hours in all.
Vanderbilt Television News Archive
The world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. It records, preserves and provides access to television news broadcasts of the US national networks since August 5, 1968.