Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Open Access Film Resources
AdViews This link opens in a new window
A digital archive of thousands of vintage television commercials dating from the 1950s to the 1980s from Duke University.
Al Jazeera Video
Al Jazeera’s Creative Commons Repository contains broadcast footage that Al Jazeera has released under various Creative Commons licenses.
American Archive of Public Broadcasting
The Library of Congress and GBH in Boston have embarked on a project to preserve for posterity the most significant public television and radio programs of the past 60 years
The American Memory project from the Library of Congress provides access to several hundred early motion pictures
Black Film Archive
Celebrates the rich, abundant history of Black cinema. It is an evolving archive dedicated to making historically and culturally significant films made from 1915 to 1979 about Black people accessible through a streaming guide with cultural context.
Life & Times in Britain form 1890 - 2011
C-SPAN Video Library
Contains all C-SPAN programs since 1987, indexed, abstracted, and cataloged by the C-SPAN Archives staff
Civil Rights Digital Library
Provides access to online films, texts, images, and audio recordings related to the Civil Rights movement in the United States in the 1950's and 1960's.
Digital Video Collections Guide
Scott Spicer's very complete guide to online digital collections.
Collaborative endeavor to create a digital archive of ethnographic field video for use by scholars and instructors.
The Moving Image Archive within the Internet Archive provides access to nearly a quarter million films.
The Media Burn Archive is a collection of over 6,000 independent, non-corporate tapes that reflect cultural, political and social reality as seen by independent producers, from 1969 to the present.
National Film Board of Canada
Watch over 2,000 classic and brand-new NFB titles
UC San Diego Library's Travel Films on Shared Shelf Commons
16mm travel films from 1930 - 1970. Part of The UCSD Library collection of Amateur film.
Vimeo is a well known video sharing site specializing in user-generated content, media production howto videos, independent films.
WGBH Open Vault
Provides online access to unique and historically important content produced by the public television and radio station WGBH.
YouTube Movies provides access to thousands of commercial films (mostly Studio) across most popular film genres. Though many films require a rental cost, there are hundreds of free films legally available in this section.