Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find articles on UC San Diego Architecture
Art and Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
1927-present, citations to journal articles on art, architecture, photography, and related disciplines.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
1934-present, with selective coverage back to 1741. Lists journal articles in architecture, and related fields such as archaeology, urban planning, historic preservation, interior design
Books on UC San Diego Campus Architecture & Stuart Collection
Landmarks: sculpture commissions for the Stuart Collection at the University of California San Diego : the art of paying attention by
Call Number: NB30.S78 B43 2020
Publication Date: 2020
In 1981, The Stuart Foundation, a not-for-profit foundation dedicated to funding experimental public sculpture, and the University of California, San Diego formed an extraordinary partnership to create a major public, site-specific sculpture collection with works through out the campus. This collection has played an important role in the arena of public art. Instead of asking artists to create an object, without reference to the site, they ask that each artist explore the campus carefully, and create a site-specific piece that could be integrated into the beautifully landscaped, 1,200-acre UCSD campus in La Jolla. The collection now includes 20 works by some of the most important contemporary artists, including William Wegman, Bruce Nauman, Kiki Smith, Robert Irwin, Do Ho Suh and Mark Bradford, among others. Landmarks is an updated edition of the only book focused on this premier collection of site specific public art.
University of California, San Diego by
Call Number: LD781.S2 S88 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Founded during the space-age boom of the 1950s, the University of California, San Diego campus showcases some ofCalifornia's finest postwar architecture. Perched dramatically above the Pacific Ocean, the campus architecture ranges from spare sixties concrete structures to light, open California modernists designs and, from the new millennium, buildings that reflect the latest ideas about connecting buildings with the student community.