LibGuides: PBL Information Resources and Tools for the First Year: Case 25: Avery Anderson -- Peanuts are not nuts

Textbooks

So much good stuff is available in one of your favorite resources, Access Medicine but if it doesn't have what you need, try one of the following:

Basic Immunology by Abul K. Abbas, et. al.
Publication Date: 2016
Covers all the essential concepts in immunology and has full-color illustrations, useful tables, summary boxes, and more to help you understand immunology.
Food Allergy by Dean Metcalf, et. al.
Publication Date: 2014-01-28
Designed to be a practical, readable reference for use in the hospital or private practice setting with short-article-like chapters. A wide spectrum of topics from IgE-mediated reactions, food allergens, andtheories on increased prevalence of food allergies.
Red Book Atlas of Pediatric Infectious Diseases by Baker
Publication Date: 2020
One of our print Reference books as it is a key textbook in peds. Now available online.
Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics by Kliegman, et al.
Publication Date: 2016
A key peds textbook. The chapters on allergy or immunology might be key for this week's topics.

Not Finding What You Need? Just Ask:

Not finding what you need? Having trouble using one of our resources? Please let us know.

Ask Karen - you can reach me at 858-534-1199 or at kheskett@ucsd.edu

Ask a Librarian - check out all the ways to reach one of us at the Biomed Library

Ask a UC Librarian - for those late-night questions, chat with a Librarian 24/7

Avery Anderson - Peanuts are not nuts

Don't forget that questions about drug treatments for specific conditions or to look up a type of drug (e.g., antibiotics) the Drug Information Resources (Micromedex, Clinical Pharmacology) will help get you the info.

Resources for this case include:

Textbook Suggestions (look left)

Point of Care tools -- There is more than Up to Date

Databases: PubMed & Education Resources Information Center

Videos

Federated Clinical Search tools -- TRIP database

National Organizations

Point of Care Tools

For those questions that are more clinically oriented, the point of care tools (Up to Date and eMedicine) will help you understand better a disease, related tests, associated treatments and more. Don't just use Up to Date - for this topic you might really like the concise display on eMedicine.

Medscape
It has a nice section on food allergies (not specific to children), from practice essentials to DDX to epidemiology and more.
Up to Date
Want to use it as an app? Sign up for an account when connected through our subscription and then download the app and login there.
Micromedex
When looking up a drug, this is one of the best tools to use. A combined book and clinical tool in one.

Databases & Tips: PubMed & ERIC

PubMed

There is so much recent literature on peanut allergy that you will find some of the latest research on it in PubMed. A simple peanut allergy search (maybe add treatment) with a couple of extra settings will get you some good results. After the search,:

Add a limit for Clinical Trial
Look for articles with your terms in the title (add [title] after peanut allergy)

PubMed

ERIC: Education Resources Information Center

The other database that will greatly help you is the database specifically for information about education called ERIC. It will cover everything from dealing with peanut allergies in schools to epipens to more psycho-social topics. A simple search will do - the following is just one example.

ERIC: Education Resources Information Center

Videos & Multimedia

Videos & Multimedia

Managing Pediatric Allergy (Medscape)
Dr Scott Sicherer, a pediatric specialist at the Jaffe Food Allergy Institute, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, New York, explains how allergy testing is just one part of the diagnosis and management of food allergy. (Create a free account to see it.)
Preventing Pediatric Food Allergy
Dr Scott Sicherer, a pediatric specialist at the Jaffe Food Allergy Institute, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, New York, looks at clinical trial results and discusses how the advice has evolved as the evidence base has grown. (Create a free account to see it.)
JOVE Biology: Allergic Reactions
We speak of an allergy when the immune system triggers a response against a benign foreign structure, like food, pollen or pet dander. These elicitors are called allergens. If the immune system of a hypersensitive individual was primed against a specific allergen, it will trigger allergic symptoms during every subsequent encounter of the allergen. Symptoms can be mild, such as hay fever, to severe, such as potentially fatal anaphylactic shock.

Moving to Medical Search Engines

A Google-like Tool just for Medical Resources

Ever wish there was a Google that was just medical resources? There is one that gets you pretty close to that. The Trip Database focuses on evidence based resources and you will see that the information presented reflects that focus with synopses, guidelines, systematic reviews & meta-analysis, ect. Try it out.

TRIP Database

National Organizations

National Organizations

Food Allergy Research & Education
Foodallergy.org has a great deal of info on food allergy and dealing with this condition.
NIAID Guidelines for the Diagnosis and Management of Food Allergies
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases page on food allergies. Find patient info and links to health professional resources including the latest research articles.