LibGuides: PBL Information Resources and Tools for the First Year: Case 24: Sam Domingo -- So Many Infections

Textbooks

Books of interest outside of Access Medicine. Check UC Library Search to see what we might have on any topic.

Red Book Atlas of Pediatric Infectious Diseases by American Academy of Pediatrics Staff; Baker Publishing Group Staff (Editor)
Publication Date: 2020
Essential information and recommendations for diagnosing and treating more than 75 pediatric conditions. Essential information on each condition is presented in the precise sequence needed in the clinical setting - from testing & dxs to treatment.
Kendig's Disorders of the Respiratory Tract in Children by Victor Chernick, et al
ISBN: 0721636950
Publication Date: 2012
Some very pertinent chapters - for example, under Clinical Considerations, CH 8 history & physical exam.
Hot Topics infection and immunity in children (IX) by Andrew J. Pollard et all
ISBN: 1461447267
Publication Date: 2013
This one has a nice chapter on When to Think about Immunodeficiency that might be very helpful for this week's case.
Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics (20th) by Robert M. Kliegman, et. al.
ISBN: 1455775665
Publication Date: 2016
Diagnostic lymph node pathology by Dennis H. Wright, et al.
Call Number: WH 700 W948d 2006
Find several chapters covering a variety of topics including: lymph node biopsies and reactive & infective lymphadeophathy

Not Finding What You Need? Just Ask:

Not finding what you need? Having trouble using one of our resources? Please let us know.

Ask Karen - you can reach me at 858-534-1199 or at kheskett@ucsd.edu

Ask a Librarian - check out all the ways to reach one of us at the Biomed Library

Ask a UC Librarian - for those late-night questions, chat with a Librarian 24/7

Sam Domingo -- So Many Infections

Don't forget that questions about drug treatments for specific conditions or to look up a type of drug (e.g., antibiotics) the Drug Information Resources (Micromedex, Clinical Pharmacology) will help get you the info.

Resources for this case include:

Textbook Suggestions (look left)

Point of Care tools -- Some of your favorite tools

National and Local Organizations

Point of Care Tools

For those questions that are more clinically oriented, the point of care tools (Up to Date, Medscape and even Micromedex) will help you understand better a disease, related tests, associated treatments and more.

Up to Date
Medscape
Their section for Pediatric Pneumonia Differential Diagnoses may be just what you need. (Free account - so sign up.)
Micromedex
A combined book and clinical tool in one.

National & Local Resources

California Children's Services
A State program for children with certain diseases or health problems. Through this program, children up to 21 years old can get the health care and services they need.
Primary Care Medical Home
The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality recognizes that revitalizing the Nation’s primary care system is foundational to achieving high-quality, accessible, efficient health care for all Americans. The primary care medical home, also referred to as the patient centered medical home (PCMH), advanced primary care, and the healthcare home, is a promising model for transforming the organization and delivery of primary care.
Got Transitions
A federally funded project to help health professionals help their pediatric patients transition to adult health care.
Genetic & Rare Disorders Information Center
From the National Institutes of Health it gives health care providers and their patients immediate access to experienced information specialists who can supply current and accurate information about more than 6,000 genetic and rare diseases in English and Spanish.
The health professional section links out to a diagnosis assistance tool called FindZebra.
National Organization for Rare Disorders
A database with information for both patients and physicians covering rare diseases and additional information.
Immune Deficiency Foundation (IDF)
Dedicated to improving the diagnosis, treatment and quality of life of persons with primary immunodeficiencies.
Jeffrey Model Foundation: 10 Warning Signs of Primary Immuodeficiency
Check out their community awareness campaign's 10 warning signs.

Insurance Coverage Search Suggestions

What does the literature have on this issue? Are there government reports or other information sources available online? What programs are available for children?

A couple of the programs to know about include Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (county), California Children's Services (state), and Children's Health Insurance Program (national). Searches of the literature or the internet could use either of these terms.

Health & Human Services Pre-Existing Condition Information
One of the resources Google should find - especially if you used site:gov. It has a little info about the previous pre-exising condition insurance and what is now available.
Google
-- Definitely a good time to use site:gov or site:org to narrow your results.
Business Source Complete
-- A database for anything and everything financial or economic.
-- Great coverage of several of this week's topics especially insurance coverage or genetic discrimination.
-- Check it out, really.
PubMed
-- Add the age filter or, since they made that so many clicks to accomplish, simply add this: "Child"[Mesh:NoExp] to get articles appropriate for the 6 -12 yo. You might combine that with pneumonia or CGD or any number of topics.
-- Health insurance and health care coverage is fairly well covered in this resource.
-- Your search will need to be more than just a simple term or two.
-- "Similar articles" might be very helpful if you find a good article.

Lab Tests Info

Looking up information about the results of lab tests are mostly background questions. The following resources are easy to use tools to find very reliable information about the normal values, reference ranges, and more.

Henry's Clinical Diagnosis and Management by Laboratory Methods by Richard A. McPherson; Matthew R. Pincus
Now available online! The definitive book in laborator medicine. It is a comprehensive, multidisciplinary pathology reference providing guidance on lab test selection & interpretation of results. When you need deeper explanations, this is the resource to use.
Ferri's Clinical Advisor by Fred F. Ferri
Publication Date: 2017
Alphabetical list of about 300 tests and over 700 diseases. It also has "see also" to map you to the correct clinical name. The normal range in adult patients is provided and common abnormalities along with causes of abnormal results. Where appropriate, has SI units listed as well.
Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests by Diana Nicoll; Stephen J. McPhee; Michael Pignone; Chuanyi Mark Lu
Available from Access Medicine. This text includes most of the blood, urine, and cerebrospinal fluid tests - about 350 different tests. Browse the list to find a table on a specific items: range of normal values & how it is collected; physiologic basis; & interpretation. (Brief notes only)
Delmar's Guide to Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests by Rick Daniels
Contains over 600 lab and diagnostic tests. Browse the list alphabetically (list on the left) or use the search box and use the "search within text" to more directly find what you need.

Clinical Pharmacology: Lab Test Summaries
Navigate through the list of tests CP includes for a brief table of normal ranges by age group in both traditional units & SI units.
Lab Tests Online
A peer-reviewed, non-commercial, and patient-centered resource. It is a free resource from the American Association for Clinical Chemistry.

Genetic Resources

Genetic Resources

Have you figured out the disease? If so, you might need to check on the inheritability of the condition. Here are a few resources to explore. I really like the Genetics Home Reference.

Genetics Home Reference
A freely available resource from the National Library of Medicine covering the genetics of over 500 health conditions, diseases or syndromes. Provides info on more than 750 genes and the health effects of genetic differences. Tools at the site include a handbook, a glossary, and other resources including organizations dealing with genetic tests and counseling. Target audience is the health consumer.
Genetics: GeneReviews
A free resource (book) that is on the NCBI bookshelf (NCBI also does PubMed). It is expert-authored and peer-reviewed, with disease descriptions that apply genetic testing to the diagnosis, management, and genetic counseling of patients and families with specific inherited conditions.
OMIM - Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man
Explore this comprehensive, authoritative, and timely compendium of human genes and genetic phenotypes. It is offers full-text, referenced overviews on all known mendelian disorders and over 12,000 genes. OMIM focuses on the relationship between phenotype and genotype.