It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
There is no "one-stop shopping" for scholarly literatures spanning the GPS curriculum, so a proper retrieval strategy generally requires visits to several databases, each of which carries particular strengths and weaknesses (not to mention different search interfaces).
Among the products cited herein for this class, Business Source Complete and Academic Search Complete offer quick access to viewable article texts, drawn from strong sets of academic, trade, and general periodicals. Try the other databases as needed for extended disciplinary coverage.
Law review articles often work well with GPS concerns in trade, investment, regulation, intellectual property, and human rights. Nexis Uni carries over 900 full-text law reviews. Still more are online via Westlaw Campus Research.
Case studies, scholarly journals, and business news for deep research coverage of global economies. Company and industry profiles including SWOT reports, market share reports, and financial reports. Also company histories.
A convenient, broad approach to scholarly literature. Use in conjunction with your UCSD VPN connection to gain direct, click-thru access to many of the cited works hosted in our subscribed publisher and database sites,
Complete searchable backfile runs of top journals in economics, political science, area studies, finance, business, law, history, and other fields; latest 2-3 years of article content generally not available here.
Over 12,000 scholarly journals across sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities; includes top titles in law, political science, international relations, economics, business, finance, area studies, development.
Research within the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public policy.
The scholarly editorial and publishing process traditionally takes months to get new manuscripts into print, but these sites organize and distribute early versions of relevant academic papers for use now. Many, but not all, of these papers will eventually appear in journals or books.
Think Tank Search is a custom Google search of over 680 think tank websites. For the purposes of this search, think tanks are defined as institutions affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, non-governmental organizations, and businesses that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity.
When viewing database search results, look for the
button to help lead you to matching online full-text articles from our licensed e-journal providers. Some databases may have loaded internal HTML or PDF texts as well.
For most topics, you should run searches across multiple databases for best results.
Nearly all databases have a user help link in the upper right-hand corner with search tips and other guidance.
Take advantage of database features such as citation formatting and exporting, limiting to academic journals, and automatic alerting to new articles.