Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Active Legislation from Govtrack.us
The UC San Diego Libraries are a selective Federal Depository Library. Use the UC Library Search to find government publications in our collection or online. We also have many subscription resources for United States government information, including:
CQ Magazine (formerly CQ Weekly) This link opens in a new window
Full text access to nonpartisan information on Capitol Hill back to 1983. Includes analysis of legislation, congressional roll call votes and other hot topics.
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Indexes Congressional materials from 1789-present. Includes full text access to U.S. legislative information, including bills and pending legislation, legislative history, hearings, testimony, Congressional Record, CRS Reports, public laws, etc.(For full text of most historic reports and documents, try the U.S. Congressional Serial Set via Readex.) Now also includes Serial Set Maps 1789-2007; Executive Branch 1789-1952; and Presidential Materials 1789-Present
U.S. Congressional Serial Set This link opens in a new window
Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. (1817-1980)
Congressional Research Service Reports
Congressional Research Service prepares reports at the request of Members but does not provide public access. Some Members and non-profit groups have posted the reports. This site provides searchable and browseable access to many of those reports
U.S. Declassified Documents Online This link opens in a new window
Full text of documents from various government agencies: the White House, the CIA, the FBI, the State Department and others, declassified by the U.S. government, and obtained from Presidential Libraries.
Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
Nearly 40,000 declassified government documents from 1945 to present, organized into collections, each focused on a single topic.
Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS), 1861-1958
Official documentary record of major US foreign policy decisions, archived as digital facsimile by the University of Wisconsin. Incomplete run with years added as available. Precedes the modern version maintained and archived by the US State Department.
Foreign Relations of the United States (US Govt)
This web site, sponsored by the United States Department of State, provides online editions of many volumes of FRUS, the "official historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and diplomatic activity."
Govtrack.us This link opens in a new window
Track members of Congress and the status of legislation. Full text of bills from 1993-present; varied coverage 1799-1992. Also makes its bulk data, API, and source code available.
National Security Archive
Selected declassified documents of the US government on a wide range of subjects: Nuclear History, Middle East, Latin America, Asia, Intelligence and Secrecy, September 11, etc. A valuable collection of primary sources. Also lists documents for sale
Congressional Research Service Reports from the UNT Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The Congressional Research Service (CRS) does not provide direct public access to its reports, requiring citizens to request them from their Members of Congress. Some Members, as well as several non-profit groups, have posted the reports on their web sites. This site is not affiliated with the Congressional Research Service, but aims to provide integrated, searchable access to many of the full-text CRS reports that have been available at a variety of different web sites since 1990.
The information on this site is compiled and made available as a public service by the Government Documents Department at the UNT Libraries.
Lobbyists & Interest Groups
The following websites will tell you more about individual interest groups and lobbying organizations and help you track their finances.
Lobbying Database - OpenSecrets.org This link opens in a new window
Freely available from OpenSecrets.org. Keyword search by lobbyist, firm, client, industry, agency, bills, or issue/topic.
Follow The Money
provides data on campaign contributions in state elections. The information includes contributions by sector, by political party, labor and business. From the National Institute on Money in State Politics.
Company-level lobbying reports with visualizations and downloadable data. Database by the research team of MIT political science faculty In Song Kim.
Foundation Center 990 Finder
Find IRS tax forms filed by nonprofit organizations
"Where Americans Can See Where Their Money Goes." USAspending.gov is the publicly accessible, searchable website mandated by the Federal Funding Accountability and Transparency Act of 2006 to give the American public access to information on how their tax dollars are spent.
Senate Office of Public Records - Public Disclosure
From the U.S. Senate. Includes Lobbying Disclosure Act Databases and related rules and laws.
California Secretary of State database to find financial information supplied by candidates, donors, lobbyists, and others for the state.
IssueLab, a service of the Foundation Center, is an online collection of documents and reports shared by social sector organizations from around the world in order to more effectively gather, index, and share the collective intelligence of the social sector. Provides free access to thousands of case studies, evaluations, white papers, and issue briefs addressing some of the world's most pressing social problems.
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
Partnership of academic and research organizations offering a collection of millions of digitized materials from libraries around the world, include the UC San Diego Library. Full text is available for many but not all items - you can restrict your search to full text items.