Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Statistical Databases
Fitch Country Risk & Industry Research This link opens in a new window
Select "China" under Geography. Business Monitor International (BMI) is a leading, independent provider of proprietary data, analysis, ratings, rankings, and forecasts covering 175 countries and 22 industry sectors.
CEIC Data This link opens in a new window
CEIC Data contains economic, industrial and financial time-series data. Access limited to 5 simultaneous users. Try again later if refused.
Four databases are included in this package:
• China Premium Databases
The China Premium Database offers over 415,000 time-series records on macroeconomic, sector, industry and regional data dating back to 1949. The China Premium Database is available in both English and Chinese.
• Brazil Premium Databases
The Brazil Premium Database covers 13 macroeconomic and 13 industry growth sectors with unmatched coverage of the energy, biofuel, and automobile sectors. Regional data are also available for Brazil's 5 regions, all 27 states, and 6000 municipalities.
• Global Database
CEIC Data’s Global Database provides access to granular macroeconomic data covering both developed and emerging markets covering over 200 economies and is ideal for business students, professors and lecturers for macroeconomic research projects and course assignments.
• Daily Database
China Data Online 中国数据在线 This link opens in a new window
Includes monthly and yearly reports on China's macroeconomic development, statistical databases about China's population and economy at the county and city level, and financial indicators industrial branches; also includes statistical yearbooks.
China Geo-Explorer II This link opens in a new window
China Geo-Explorer (CGE) II fully integrates different data sources from government statistics, population census and economics census of China at different levels (province, city, county, township and ZIP code) into a spatial system with more than 6,000 comparable variables for easy access.
China Statistical Yearbooks (CNKI中国社会经济大数据研究平台) This link opens in a new window
Large selection of statistical data of national, provincial and city level, published by the Chinese government including census data.
Contemporary Chinese Village Gazetteer Data (CCVG Data) project - University of Pittsburgh
The open dataset consisting of data selected from the ULS collection of Chinese village gazetteers. Village gazetteers record statistical data on individual villages, covering the years from 1949 to the present showing the history and development of Chinese villages (the village is the most basic administrative unit in China). The CCVG Data project, the first of its kind, offers scholars a dataset based on the ULS East Asian Library’s growing collection of Chinese village gazetteers, which currently numbers over 2,500. The initial dataset covers 500 villages and was uploaded in September 2019.
Economist Intelligence Unit (UCSD Portal) This link opens in a new window
Find "China" under "Country" tab. Or go to http://country.eiu.com/China
EMIS Intelligence (formerly ISI Emerging Markets) This link opens in a new window
With abundant in-country news and industry publications; excellent China coverage
EPS China Statistics This link opens in a new window
EPS China Statistics provides series statistical data on China. As of November 2017, the EPS Data Platform includes 41 China databases sourced from industrial, regional and national organizations, covering various subjects/industries/fields and all regions of China. It offers data retrieval, processing, analysis, forecasting, visualization display and data export. EPS China Statistics has both English and Chinese versions, and contains over 1.2 million basic and combined statistical indicators in time series with a yearly increment of more than 30 million numeric data. URL to Chinese version: http://olap.epsnet.com.cn/index.html
IBISWorld Industry Intelligence This link opens in a new window
IBISworld China package provides industry market research reports and selected economic & demographic data.
Global Insight This link opens in a new window
Find "China" under Country Intelligence. It includes country reports, risk ratings, industry analysis, daily alerts, and data. Also includes country reports on automotive, telecom, and health/pharmaceutical sectors. Find data in IHS connect under Tool->Databrowser
ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Contains China Statistical Yearbooks, papers from "Asian Development Review", "China: Industry Forecast", "China Business Review", "All China Marketing Research (China, People's Republic)" "International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (United Nations: World Bank Group)," etc.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Access important statistics and facts about China including GPD, population, international trade, industries etc.
Wind Economic Database
The Wind Economic Database pairs over 1.3 million macroeconomic and industry time series with graphics and data analysis tools to give financial professionals the comprehensive insights into China's economy.
**Remote and onsite access at GIS/Data Lab. Please contact Xi Chen for access instruction**
Official Government Sites
Differences between Statisitcs and Data