Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Getting Full Text Articles
The full text of an article within a database is provided in multiple formats. Look for:
- An HTML link
- PDF link
- Link to Get it at UC
The Get it at UC link will provide you options for how to access the full text of the article. If there are no online links available, this means you need to request the item through Interlibrary Loan if a print version is not available at UC San Diego. The Library will deliver the full text of an article to you free of charge. When requesting you will need your Library ID number.
Your library card/account number begins with "21822" and can be found on the back of your UCSD ID card or within the UCSD app. Enter the 14-digit number without spaces.
CAJ, China Academic Journals by CNKI 中国期刊全文数据库
Provides access to articles from a large number of Chinese journals from 1994 on
Subscription includes 4 series: (F)Literature, History, and Philosophy, (G)Politics, Military Affairs, and Law, (H) Education, and the Social Sciences, and (J) Economics and Management
Description: Online database of statutes and legal information presented by Chinalawinfo Co. and the Peking University Center for Legal Information, Peking University. The database includes 500,000 statutes, including 400 laws, 2,000 regulations, and 200 judicial explanations for free. Nearly 2,000 full-text English versions of Chinese statutes (fee-based), newly released laws and regulations. Includes cases, research articles of legal studies, searchable by subjects, book reviews, links to online Chinese legal journals, a directory of Chinese law scholars, and information about law making and law enforcement. Link to English information leads to separate Web site
China Law Translate
The website provides English-language sources for news and analysis on Chinese law, and English translations of Chinese laws and regulations.
Chinese Communist Party History Database (中共党史期刊数据库 -1949) via Dacheng
A full-text collection of diverse publications established by or pertaining to the Chinese Communist Party prior to 1949.
CJP, Century Journals Project 世纪期刊
With over 100 journals in the social sciences published prior to 1993
Dacheng Old Periodical Full-Text Database 大成老旧刊全文数据库
Provides access to scanned articls from Chinese journals published during the late Qing dynasty and the Republican period (1911-1949)
Subject coverage includes the humanities, arts, social sciences, sciences, technology, medicine, and agriculture
Journal runs for most titles incomplete
The Database of Chinese Judicial Archives (Jiangjin section) Phase I and Phase II / 中国司法档案数据库•江津卷
Full-text searchable database of judicial documents sourced from the Jiangjin District Archive (Chongqing). Contains over 1,800 volumes, 120,000 pages of litigation files from 1911 to 1949.
Databases on the History of Contemporary Chinese Political Movements 中國當代政治運動史數據庫
Includes 3 full-text databases, English and Chinese interface available
中國文化大革命文庫 Chinese Cultural Revolution Database
中國反右運動數據庫 Chinese Anti-Rightist Campaign Database, 1957-
中國大躍進大飢荒數據庫 Database of Chinese Great Leap Forward and Great Famine, 1958-1962
Provides access to about 1,000 online Chinese popular magazines for general reading
Hong Kong Journals Online
Access to select academic and professional journal published in Hong Kong, in Chinese and English
A full-text image database
Hong Kong Literature Database 香港文學資料庫
Full-text available for major part of the database
Coverrage includes literary columns form Hong Kong nespapers, journal articles, literary books held at the CUHK Library, and theses
Late Qing and Republican Period / Chinese Periodical Full Text Database 晚清和民国时期期刊全文数据库 （全国报刊索引）
20,000 periodicals published during Late Qing (1833-1911) the Republican Period (1911-1949), including 良友 and 宇宙风
National Social Sciences Database 国家哲学社会科学学术期刊数据库
Sign-in needed to view and download contents
Includes close to 600 social science journals, covering subject areas in philosophy, religion, politics, law, economics, management, culture, education, languages and linguistics, literature, arts, history, geography, and general natureal sciences
National Taiwan University Journal Database 臺灣大學學術期刊資料庫
Full-text articles from academic journals published by the National Taiwan University since 2002
Renda Periodicals 人大复印报刊资料
Remin University of China’s digitized newspaper and periodicals full text database for all subjects. Coverage is from 1995 to current.
Superstar Periodicals 超星期刊
Full text journal database from mainland of China.
Taiwan Nichinichi Shinpo sound culture database / 臺灣日日新報聲音文化資料庫
Taiwan Nichinichi Shinpō (Taiwan Daily News) Sound Culture Database, created by the Graduate Institute of Musicology at National Taiwan University (NTU) in collaboration with NTU Library and Transmission Books & Microinfo Co. (TBMC), is keyword searchable to 357,200 selected articles that involve musical sound, including performing arts (such as dance, opera, drama), mass media (such as records, radio broadcasts, and films), traditional activities (such as ceremonies, rituals, temple festivals, parades), etc. The database covers the period from the year Taiwan Daily News was launched (1898) to March 31, 1944, after which date Taiwan Daily News merged with other newspapers into Taiwan shinpō (Taiwan News)
Taiwan wen xian cong kan 臺灣文獻叢刊
Also known as the Encyclopedia of Taiwan. Contains searchable full-text and scanned images of 595 books originally published in print between 1959 and 1972. Temporal coverage from the Tang Dynasty to the Japanese occupation period.
TEPS, Taiwan Electronic Periodicals Services 台灣電子期刊服務網
Contains full-text (PDF) of periodicals published in Taiwan
Covers the humanities, social, natural, applied, medical and life sciences
Interface available in Chinese and English
Wanfang Data 万方数据
Provides access to five databases
- COJ, China Online Journals
- DOC, Dissertations of China
- ACIC, Academic Conferences in China
- PLOC, Policies and Laws of China
- CECDB, Chinese Companies and Products
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database with 17,800+ journals and magazines, of which 16,000+ are peer-reviewed and 8,750+ are full-text. Also included are books, conference papers and proceedings, government documents, newspapers, video content, and more. Coverage begins in 1887, with material in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
An index to western-language books, book chapters, and articles on all parts of Asia. Includes over 900,000 citations, dating primarily from 1971 onwards, with more than 400,000 citations since 1992.
CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
Full text of working papers, conference proceedings, policy briefs, economic indicators, and other resources in international affairs.
China, America and the Pacific
Explores the cultural and trading relationships that emerged between America, China and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries. Sourced from twelve North American libraries including a selection of rare books and manuscripts from the UC San Diego Library's Special Collections & Archives. These include selected rare books from the Hill Collection of Pacific Voyages and manuscript material for the Alaska Commercial Company Records.
China, America and the Pacific offers unique insights into the history of North American trade. Coverage includes the Old China Trade, the Pacific Northwest fur trade, the whaling industry and the development of Pacific trading centres such as Hawaii. Manuscripts, rare printed sources, visual images, objects and maps from international libraries and archives document this fascinating history.
China: Culture and Society
Spanning three centuries, China: Culture and Society provides access to the Wason Pamphlet collection in its entirety. Mostly in English and published between c.1750 and 1929, these rare pamphlets make up one of the most extensive collections of literature on China and the Chinese in the Western world.
China: Trade, Politics and Culture 1793-1980
With documents encompassing events from the earliest English embassy to the birth and early years of the People’s Republic, this resource collects sources from nine archives to give an incredible insight into the changes in China during this period. Key documents relating to the Chinese Maritime Customs service – from Robert Hart to Frederick Maze – are accessible and searchable alongside original reports of the Amherst and Macartney embassies. There are letters relating to the first Opium War, survivors’ descriptions of the Boxer War and tantalising glimpses of life in China from the collected diaries and personal photographs of the Bowra family. Significant sources describing the lives and work of missionaries in China from 1869-1970, including extensive and fully searchable runs of missionary periodicals are also featured.
Foreign Office Files For China, 1919-1980
The six parts of this collection make available all British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1919 and 1980:
1919-1929: Kuomintang, CCP and the Third International
1930-1937: The Long March, civil war in China and the Manchurian Crisis
1938-1948: Open Door, Japanese war and the seeds of communist victory
1949-1956: The Communist revolution
1957-1966: The Great Leap Forward
1967-1980: The Cultural Revolution
A full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. 1970s-present.
Search for scholarly publications across disciplines & sources: articles, theses/dissertations, books, and more, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities etc. Use Scholar Settings-->Library Links option to setup UC-eLinks, and if you are searching from off campus, log in to the web vpn (https://vpn.ucsd.edu) to get full access to UCSD article content.
1863-present. International database for research on history of all regions (except the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the current decade. Content includes
indexing of historical articles from more than 2,300 journals in over 40 languages.
Search by subject or browse 2,600+ full-text titles, predominantly scholarly journals and books in social sciences, history, humanities, and science and mathematics, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years often not included. JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
MLA International Bibliography
The primary database of citations to journal articles, monographs, book chapters, and dissertations in the fields of non-Classical
literatures and folklore. Important source for linguistics and non-technical aspects of theater & film. Ca. 1890 - present.
Project Muse: Scholarly Journals Online
Search by subject or browse full text scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. More than 700 journals from over 250 university presses and scholarly publishers are available. Coverage begins 1906 or later, depending on the publication. UCSD also has access to over 30,000 book titles.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
Ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Where available, it provides 24-page previews. Most UC dissertations from mid-1990s forward are available for full-text PDF download.
Web of Science
Indexes over 18,000 journals in all subjects (coverage back to 1900 for science and social science journals), as well as 80,000 books and more than 180K conference proceedings. Includes the popular "cited reference search" to identify papers which have cited a previously published work or author. Can also sort by "times cited" and find related articles based on commonly cited works.
Archives Unbound (China Studies)
This series consists of reports, studies, and surveys on various topics of interest to the Department of State. The reports vary from short memorandums to detailed, documented studies. The topics vary from individual commodities or countries to the economic and political characteristics of whole regions. This collection consists of research and intelligence reports prepared during 1941-1947 on China
ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Chinese Newspapers Collection
The Canton times (1919-1920) -- The China critic (1939-1946) -- China monthly review (1950-1953) -- The China Press (1925-1938) -- The China Weekly Review (1923-1950) -- The Chinese recorder (1912-1938) -- The Chinese recorder and educational review (1939-1941) -- The Chinese recorder and missionary journal (1868-1912) -- The Chinese repository (1832-1851) -- Millard's China National Review (1919-1919) -- Millard's Review of the Far East (1917-1919) -- Millard's Review of the Far East (1919-1921) -- The North-China Herald (1850-1867) -- The North-China Herald and Market Report (1867-1869) -- The North-China Herald and Supreme Court & Consular Gazette (1870-1941) -- Peking daily news (1914-1917), English ed. -- Peking gazette (1915-1917) -- The Peking leader (1918-1919) -- The Shanghai gazette (1919-1921) -- The Shanghai Times (1914-1921) -- The Weekly Review (1922-1923) -- The Weekly Review of the Far East (1921-1922)