Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Full-text Databases of Primary Sources
Chinese Classic Ancient Books - Zhongguo jiben guji ku (中国基本古籍庫) This link opens in a new window
On the login page, select “中國基本古籍庫,” then click “Login” to connect to the database. Remember to click “exit” from the homepage/gateway when done, otherwise the next user will have to wait at least 15 minutes). Does not work with proxy - use VPN or webVPN instead. The largest database of pre-20th century covering all fields of knowledge from the pre-Qin period through to the Republican period. The texts are divided into four sections — Philosophy and Science, History and Geography, Art and Literature, and General Works — and these are further divided into twenty major categories, which are in turn subdivided into one hundred minor categories.
Diaolong Full-Text Database of Chinese and Japanese Ancient Books 雕龙中日古籍全文资料库 This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to a number of collections of pre-modern writings, including the Daozang 道藏, Daozang jiyao 道藏辑要, Sibu congkan 四部叢刊, Yongle dadian 永樂大典, Gujin tushu jicheng 古今圖書集成, Siku quanshu 四庫全書, and more.
Gu jin tu shu ji cheng 古今圖書集成 This link opens in a new window
Contains search-able full-text and scanned images of important classics from ancient China to the Qing Dynasty; includes works on astronomy, geography, history, philosophy, literature, politics, economics, art, education, agriculture, medicine, and more
Ming Shi Lu 明实錄
Click on "资料库查询“ to start searching and browsing. Free resource provided by Academia Sinica.
Si bu cong kan 四部叢刊 This link opens in a new window
Scanned images and searchable full-text of 504 works in 3,134 volumes compiled during the years 1919 to 1936； topics include history, astronomy, geography, politics, economics, and literature
Si ku quan shu 四庫全書 This link opens in a new window
An electronic edition of the collectanea Si ku quan shu 四庫全書 comprised of the finest editions of the best books in China and completed in 1782； includes 3,461 works, totaling over 36,375 volumes/scrolls; its four main bibliographic divisions are jing 經, shi 史, zi 子, and ji 集
National Central Library's Center for Chinese Studies 國家圖書館
Center for Chinese Studies, CCS 漢學研究中心
Has many useful database resources on Chinese studies
Academia Sinica Databases 中央研究院
Archives of the Institute of Modern History 近代史研究所檔案舘
Original historical documents including records in the
Digital Archives of Famous Personages, Diplomatic Records, and Economic Records in Modern China
Covers the Qing and Republican periods
Search box; full-text and images
Diplomatic Archives(1860s-1970s) 外交部門檔案
Economic Archives from both China and Taiwan (1903-1980s)