Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
There are also printed bibliographies that are useful for Joyce studies. Here are a few. The first resource is located in the SSHL Reference Collection; the next three are in the SSHL stacks, and the last three are in storage but can be requsted by using the "Request" button on the Roger record.
James Joyce: A Guide to Research.
Rice, Thomas Jackson. York: Garland Publishing, 1982.
English Fiction, 1900-1950: A Guide to Information Resources.
Rice, Thomas Jackson. Detroit: Gale Research, 1979-83. 2 vols.
Anglo-Irish Literature: A Review of Research.
Ed. Richard J. Finneran. New York: MLA, 1976.
English Novel Explication: Criticisms to 1972.
Ed. Helen H. Palmer and Anne Jane Dyson. Hamden, Ct.: Shoe String Press, 1973. Suppl. I, 1976. Suppl. II, 1981. Suppl. III, 1986. Suppl. IV, 1990. Suppl. V, 1994. Suppl. VI, 1997. Suppl. VII, [check date] (Various compilers; Suppls. V-VII published by Archon Books, North Haven, Ct.)
Roger does not index scholarly journals or magazines down to the article level. To find scholarly and critical articles about Joyce, you need to use either online bibliographic databases (below in red), printed bibliographies (to the left in orange), or browse in Joyce-related journals (to the right in blue).
Online Bibliographic Databases
There are two online bibliographic databases that index virtually all significant scholarly articles about Joyce. They also index some books, dissertations, websites, and other resources. Each citation has an orange button labeled "UC eLinks" which enables you to see if the UCSD Libraries has the article either in an online detabase or in the original print format.
MLA International Bibliography (MLAIB)
Published by the Modern Language Association (U.S.)
Indexes scholarly journals and many scholarly books in and about all languages except ancient Greek and Latin in the fields of literary and textual criticism, literary theory, cultural studies, folklore, and selective coverage of linguistics, theater, film, and literary pedagogy. Some indexing goes back to the late 19th century.
Annual Bibliography of English Language & Literature (ABELL)
Published by the Modern Humanities Research Association (U.K.)
Indexes scholarly journals and many scholarly books relating to literature in the English language and the English language itself published since approximately 1920.
It is possible to browse directly in journals, either in print format or online. However, by not using one of the bibliographic databases in the box to the left, you risk not finding references to relevant articles in other journals. Nevertheless, here are some journals that typically include scholarly and critical articles about the work of James Joyce: