Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A&AePortal This link opens in a new window
Online collection of key backlist and out-of-print scholarly works in the fields of art and architectural history published by: The Art Institute of Chicago, The MIT Press, Yale University Press, Harvard Art Museums, and the Yale University Art Gallery.
Art and Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
1927-present, citations to journal articles on art, architecture, photography, and related disciplines.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
1934-present, with selective coverage back to 1741. Lists journal articles in architecture, and related fields such as archaeology, urban planning, historic preservation, interior design
OpenBibArt This link opens in a new window
OpenBibArt is a bibliographic database born out of a collaboration between the Institut National d’Histoire de l’Art (INHA), the Getty Research Institute (GRI) and the Institut de l’Information Scientifique et Technique of the CNRS (Inist-CNRS).
OpenBibArt reviews the literature on arts from Late Antiquity to the present day, providing access to close to 1.2 million of bibliographic records of periodicals, books, exhibition and auction catalogues, published between 1910 and 2007.
International Bibliography of Art This link opens in a new window
IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art. Citations encompass fine arts in all media (from painting and sculpture to video and new media), decorative arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology, folk art, material culture, classical studies, antiques, and architectural history.
Reference Books including dictionaries
Atlas of Vernacular Architecture of the World by
Call Number: NA208 .V45 2007
Publication Date: 2008
The first world atlas ever compiled on vernacular architecture, this comprehensive work illustrates the variety and ingenuity of the world's vernacular building traditions from a multi-disciplinary, cross-cultural and comparative approach, using over sixty world and regional maps. Mapping such diverse aspects as materials and resources, technologies, structural systems, symbolism, forms and service systems on a cross-cultural and comparative basis, the Atlas of Vernacular Architecture of the World reveals the distribution, diversity and relationships of the world's vernacular building traditions.
Dictionary of Architecture and Construction by
Call Number: NA31 .H32 2000
Publication Date: 2000
The third edition of this dictionary reflects advances in construction technology, acknowledging the increased importance of building preservation projects. All entries have been updated, with more than 2000 new terms and 200 extra illustrations added.
A Global History of Architecture by
Call Number: NA200 .C493 2011
Publication Date: 2010
Revised and updated--the compelling history of the world's great architectural achievements Organized along a global timeline. Spanning from 3,500 b.c.e. to the present, this unique guide is written by an all-star team of architectural experts in their fields who emphasize the connections, contrasts, and influences of architectural movements throughout history. The architectural history of the world comes to life through a unified framework for interpreting and understanding architecture, supplemented by rich drawings from the renowned Frank Ching, as well as brilliant photographs. This new Second Edition: Delivers more coverage of non-Western areas, particularly Africa, South Asia, South East Asia, and Pre-Columbian America Is completely re-designed with full-color illustrations throughout.
Illustrated Dictionary of Architecture, Third Edition by
Call Number: NA31 .B83 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Now in full color--a thoroughly updated edition of the premier illustrated architectural dictionary Revised and expanded, the Illustrated Dictionary of Architecture, Third Edition, features 8,000 definitions, 4,000 illustrations, and biographies of hundreds of architects accompanied by classic examples of their work.
The Oxford Companion to Architecture by
Call Number: NA31 .O93 2009
Publication Date: 2009-09-17
The Oxford Companion to Architecture is a new A-Z reference book on a popular and much-debated subject. It covers all aspects of architecture, from architects, building types, and movements and styles to materials, aspects of design, and definitions. It is particularly strong in its coverage of architecture around the world, and of modern and vernacular architecture.
Banister Fletcher's a History of Architecture by
Call Number: NA200 .F63 1996
Publication Date: 1996
The 20th edition of Sir Banister Fletcher's A History of Architecture is the first major work of history to include an overview of the architectural achievements of the 20th Century. Banister Fletcher has been the standard one volume architectural history for over 100 years and continues to give a concise and factual account of world architecture from the earliest times.
A Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture by
Call Number: NA31 .C864 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Containing over 6,000 entries from Aalto to ziggurat, this is the most comprehensive and up-to-date dictionary of architecture available. Beautifully illustrated and written in a clear and concise style, it covers all periods of Western architectural history, from ancient times to the presentday. It also includes concise biographies of leading architects, from Brunelleschi and Imhotep to Le Corbusier and Richard Rogers. The text is complemented by over 250 beautiful and meticulous line drawings, labelled cross-sections and diagrams.