Business Ethics and Corporate Social Responsibility: Find Articles

This page supports UCSD courses and researchers on topics related to ethical management and business practices. It includes resources about social entrepreneurship, CSR and ESG information.

Research Databases

Business Source Complete Dates of coverage vary, some journals back to early 20th century. Abstracts and full text in virtually all subject areas related to Business, Management and Finance. Journal and magazine articles; also books, industry reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, much more
Dissertations and Theses (Proquest) Ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Where available, it provides a 24-page preview of a document. Most UC dissertations from mid-1990s forward are available for full-text PDF download.
Environment Complete Offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. It contains more than 2.5 million records from more than 2,350 domestic and international titles dating back to 1888. Formerly Environment Index.

Environment Index Offsite (Annex-Journals) QH1 .E47 Use this to identify articles written between 1971-1987 on a broad range of environmental topics.

Google Scholar Search for scholarly publications across disciplines & sources: articles, theses/dissertations, books, and more, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities etc. Use Scholar Settings-->Library Links option to setup "University of California, San Diego - Get it at UC" and if you are searching from off campus, log in to the VPN to get full access to UC San Diego subscribed article content.
PsycINFO 1597-present. From the American Psychological Association. Provides access to scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations. Includes approximately 2,500 journals. Updated weekly and includes an index of PsycArticles.
PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service) 1972-present. Lists print and electronic articles, books, and government publications on issues of public policy, including politics, government, economy, marine policy, law.
Philosopher's Index The premiere bibliographic database covering worldwide research in all subject areas of philosophy. It contains works on philosophy from both philosophy and interdisciplinary sources. There are author-written abstracts for most records. The global database contains more than 680,000 records with source publications from 139 countries in 37 languages. The primary languages are English, French, German, Italian, and Spanish. Primary coverage spans from 1940 to present with additional records dating back to 1893.
Web of Science Indexes over 18,000 journals in all subjects (coverage back to 1900 for science and social science journals), as well as 80,000 books and more than 180K conference proceedings. Includes the popular "cited reference search" to identify papers which have cited a previously published work or author. Can also sort by "times cited" and find related articles based on commonly cited works.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts 1975-present. Research within the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Use the Get it at UC button to find full text, print, and/or request the item from another library.
Applied Science & Technology & Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective AST covers 1983-present; AS&BP Index covers 1913-1983. This resource indexes almost 400 science and technology periodicals. This database is great for historical coverage of how a company, product or industry was covered in the popular business and technical press over time.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 Indexes a wide range of important journals in all areas of the humanities and social sciences as far back as 1907 up to 1984. Use the UC-eLinks button to find full text, print, and/or request the item from another library.
Conference Board Research Online Collection Includes research reports on key business topics; annual surveys entitled Top executive compensation, Corporate contributions, Directors' compensation and Board practices, and CEO challenge.
backfiles of data from 1998 and selected earlier reports; Executive action series of topical reports on issues of current concern; StraightTalk which is in-depth analysis of critical economic topics and forecasts of the U.S. economy, interest rates, and foreign exchange rates; Topline data on business ex
HeinOnline Full text of law reviews/legal periodicals plus primary sources such as the Code of Federal Regulations; Federal Register; Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS); Treaties and Agreements Library; United States Code; U.S. Attorney General Opinions; U.S. Congressional Documents; U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals; U.S. Federal Legislative History Library; U.S. Statutes at Large; State Session Laws Library; State Statutes: A Historical Archive; Acts of the Parliament of Canada (Annual Statutes); World Constitutions Illustrated; World Treaty Library. Also includes special topics databases.
Canadian Content
Acts of the Parliament of Canada (Annual Statutes)
Provincial Statutes of Canada

Case Law
Preview of United States Supreme Court Cases
U.S. Supreme Court Library

International Resources
Acts of the Parliament of Canada (Annual Statutes)
Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)
History of International Law
Law Library of Congress Reports
Open Society Justice Initiative
Provincial Statutes of Canada
U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library
World Constitutions Illustrated: Contemporary & Historical Documents and Resources
World Treaty Library

International Treaties and Agreements
U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library
World Treaty Library

Journals and Periodicals
Bar Journals
Law Journal Library
NOMOS: American Society for Political and Legal Philosophy
Preview of United States Supreme Court Cases

Special Collections
Air and Space Law
American Enterprise Institute (AEI)
Brennan Center for Justice Publications at NYU School of Law
Business and Legal Aspects of Sports and Entertainment (BLASE)
COVID-19: Pandemics Past and Present
Cataloging Legal Literature
Civil Rights and Social Justice
Criminal Justice & Criminology
Democracy in America
Gun Regulation and Legislation in America
Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture & Law
John F. Kennedy Assassination Collection
LGBTQ+ Rights
Labor and Employment: The American Worker
Law Academy Project
Legal Classics
Military Legal Resources (U.S. Army JAG School)
Military and Government
NOMOS: American Society for Political and Legal Philosophy
Open Society Justice Initiative
Pentagon Papers
Religion and the Law
Reports of U.S. Presidential Commissions and Other Advisory Bodies
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law
Voting Rights & Election Law
Water Rights & Resources
Women and the Law (Peggy)

U.S. Federal Content
Administrative Conference of the United States (ACUS)
Bremer-Kovacs Collection: Historic Documents Related to the Administrative Procedure Act of 1946
COVID-19: Pandemics Past and Present
Civil Rights and Social Justice
Code of Federal Regulations
Executive Privilege
Federal Register Library
GAO Reports and Comptroller General Decisions
History of Supreme Court Nominations
Immigration Law & Policy in the U.S.
Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture & Law
John F. Kennedy Assassination Collection
Labor and Employment: The American Worker
Law Library of Congress Reports
Military Legal Resources (U.S. Army JAG School)
Preview of United States Supreme Court Cases
Reports of U.S. Presidential Commissions and Other Advisory Bodies
U.S. Code
U.S. Congressional Documents
U.S. Congressional Serial Set
U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals
U.S. Federal Legislative History Library
U.S. Presidential Impeachment Library
U.S. Presidential Library
U.S. Statutes at Large
U.S. Supreme Court Library
Water Rights & Resources

U.S. State Content
Civil Rights and Social Justice
LGBTQ+ Rights
National Survey of State Laws
Prestatehood Legal Materials: A Fifty-State Research Guide
Session Laws Library
State Attorney General Reports and Opinions
State Constitutions Illustrated
State Reports: A Historical Archive
State Statutes: A Historical Archive
Subject Compilations of State Laws
Water Rights & Resources
Westlaw Campus Research Full text access to federal and state court cases, laws and regulations; law reviews, legal periodicals, and encyclopedias; European Union legal documents; and legal guides. Also includes some news sources.

Key Journals

Annals of Corporate Governance Each issue of ACG comprises a 50-100+ page monograph written by research leaders in the field. Monographs that give tutorial coverage of subjects, research retrospectives as well as survey papers that offer state-of-the-art reviews fall within the scope of the journal, as does advanced theory and debates, relating to how corporate power is channeled for the well-being of society.
Strategic Behavior and the Environment The journal is intended to provide a platform for the various disciplines that jointly contribute to our understanding of strategic behavior and the environment.
more...less...
Scholars in economics (including experimental economics, political economy, and game theory), political science, international relations, negotiation, and other disciplines are invited to submit manuscripts for publication consideration following a peer-review process.
Journal of Business Ethics
Business Ethics Quarterly
Business & Society
Business Ethics, the Environment & Responsibility
formerly Business Ethics: a European Review (pre-2021)
Business & Society Review (Wiley)
Organization Science
Business & Professional Ethics Journal (JSTOR)
Corporate Governance: an International Review (Wiley)
Economics & Philosophy

News Article Sources

Factiva Factiva.com provides access to over 16,000 global sources including: * 1,000+ Global and local newspapers * 3,000+ Journals and magazines * 30,000+ Company Reports. Factiva.com delivers content in 27 languages, from Arabic to Vietnamese.
Scroll down on the landing page to the Newsstand: US section for the latest content of Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Barron's & more.
Nexis Uni The new successor to LexisNexis Academic, Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches, and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Business Source Complete Dates of coverage vary, some journals back to early 20th century. Abstracts and full text in virtually all subject areas related to Business, Management and Finance. Journal and magazine articles; also books, industry reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, much more
Gale Business Insights GBI is a great first-stop for business and management information. It includes information on companies and industries from business and trade journals, academic journals, industry reports, newspapers, newsletters, and classic business reference sources. Search on a company name. In the search results, click on individual companies to open well-organized company profiles.
- This link opens in a new window
Regional Business News This database covers more than 80 business journals, newspapers, and newswires covering metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Can be searched separately or simultaneously with Business Source Complete (national and international coverage) by using the 'Choose Databases' option from the main search screen.
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest) This ProQuest site includes coverage of WSJ Eastern Edition, 1984-present; WSJ Online, 2010-present; and WSJ: The Magazine, 2011-present. This PQ version has a powerful and precise search engine for finding specific items or topics.
The Economist Use this link to get to the UCSD subscription to The Economist online, which covers recent contents. We also have a special link for The Economist Historical Archive (covers 1823-2015).
BMI Country Risk Global & All Industry Global Fitch is leading, independent provider of proprietary data, analysis, ratings, rankings, and forecasts covering 175 countries and 25 industry sectors. Includes lengthy country and industry reports, financial markets and commodities coverage, plus newsletters and daily alerts. Formerly Business Monitor. Login in with campus Single Sign On (SSO) credentials.
IHS Markit Connect Country reports, risk ratings, industry analysis, daily alerts, and data. Includes country reports on automotive and health/pharmaceutical sectors. **When accessing this resource for the first time, please send email to michael.minor@spglobal.com and include “New User at UCSD” in the subject line. Once he sets up your account, you'll be able to click the “Login” button and enter your UCSD email address. Your email address will be recognized, and you'll be able to access the resource.
EMIS Next Academic Research (formerly EMIS Intelligence) Provides economic studies, company & industry reports, country risk, economic and industrial statistics, and political news with a focus on emerging market countries. Covers public & private companies & global industry reports. Includes interactive data analysis tools & news alerts. Excellent China coverage.
Alt-PressWatch Full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. Provides a valuable new source of coverage, viewpoints and perspectives to complement and challenge the coverage of the mainstream media.
GenderWatch A full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. 1970s-present.
Access World News Dates vary, but some historical coverage as far back as 1690. More than 5000 sources worldwide, including nearly 1500 in the U.S. Many historical newspapers are in digitized image form. Largely newspapers, with newswires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, videos.
Newsbank: America's Newspapers Dates vary. Now part of Access World News. Full-text content of more than 650 U.S. newspapers (116 in California). Local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics and government,local companies and people.

Article Collections of Interest

Citation Classics from the Journal of Business Ethics: Celebrating the First Thirty Years of Publication by Alex C. Michalos (Editor); Deborah C. Poff (Editor)
Call Number: Springer ebook
ISBN: 9789400741256
Publication Date: 2012