Business Ethics and Corporate Social Responsibility: Home

This page supports UCSD courses and researchers on topics related to ethical management and business practices. It includes resources about social entrepreneurship, CSR and ESG information.

New Resources

Mergent Market Atlas has arrived. This platform replaces Mergent Online, but it will provide the same information and then some. Mergent Market Atlas still provides easy access to current and historical company financials, ratios, business segments, descriptions, sustainability, officers and directors. There are added ESG and economic data contents. It is especially useful for company, industry, index, SEC filings, and other reports.

It's here: A new interface for all EBSCO databases, and a special Business Searching Interface upgrade for Business Source Complete. The new interface for BSC is fresh-looking and arranged better for efficient searching and finding most-requested magazines and journals. There is also an upgrade for Regional Business News.

Business Journals (Bizjournals.com)

Would you like to read the business news from Silicon Valley, San Francisco or Seattle? What about Boston, Pittsburgh or Atlanta? We now have access to the 44 U.S. geographies published by the American City Business Journals. They come with their associated Book of Lists, rankings of top organizations across many business categories for their respective cities. Regional business news is especially useful for job hunters, those doing market research on companies and studying economic development. Co-funded by the Library and the Rady School of Management. Featured contents:

Career and Workplace, a feed of selected articles and profiles featured in the regional publications that help you get, keep and grow on the job
News Feeds by Industry for articles selected from across the U.S.

Note: The San Diego Business Journal is sourced from a different publisher and online vendor, as is a few of the other Southern California titles. See this dedicated link for SoCal business news feeds and Books of Lists.

Starting Points

These items are basic information databases for locating articles, book chapters, company and industry information. Each one contains resources on business ethics topics.

Gale Business Insights
This database has industry overviews. Additionally, there are company reports and news articles. This place is easiest to find a NAICS industry code for your company or industry (hint: this information is useful to get a list of companies).
Business Source Complete
This database also has industry overviews, company reports and news articles. In addition is has the literature of CSR – including coverage of research articles in journals like Journal of Business Ethics, Business Ethics Quarterly, Business & Society, Business Ethics: a European Review, Academy of Mangement Review, the Ruffin Series on Business Ethics, Corporate Governance and many more.
Nexis Uni
Contains thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, news wires, television news transcripts, newsletters, magazines, and trade journals. Business sources include company information, industry news, and biographical information. Legal sources include law reviews, legal reference works, and federal and state caselaw (court decisions), statutes, and regulations. Also includes select international court opinions and municipal ordinances. Coverage dates vary. International and U.S. sources.

Annual Reviews
AR provides scholarly review articles that may serve as starting points for research, or to keep up with research trends in a field. Each article attempts to convey the research output of a discipline or topic, and reports the nature of the research, in terms of its empirical findings, theoretical development, methodology or historical development.
The Conference Board's Research Insights
This source contains 1000+ reports on business issues ranging from leadership, business ethics, CSR, human capital, high-performing organizations, and the economy.

Background Information

These items lead you to background information on ethics-related topics.

Encyclopedia of Business Ethics & Society

International Encyclopedia of Organization Studies

Oxford Handbook of Business Ethics

CQ Researcher

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Encyclopedia of Human Resource Management

New Resources

The Routledge Handbook of Corporate Social Responsibility Communication by Amy O'Connor (Editor)
Call Number: Routldege e-book

ISBN: 9781003184911

Publication Date: 2022

This handbook is a resource for students, faculty, and researchers who are focused on understanding the role communication plays in the formation and execution of corporate social responsibility (CSR) activities. It examines the issues central to CSR communication including: theoretical underpinnings, form and content of CSR messaging, the boundaries of engagement, and the tensions associated with CSR communication.
Sustainable Investing: a Path to a New Horizon by Herman Bril (Editor); Georg Kell (Editor); Andreas Rasche (Editor)
Call Number: Routledge e-book

ISBN: 9780429351044

Publication Date: 2020

The idea and practice of corporate sustainability is no longer a niche movement. Investors are increasingly paying attention to sustainability factors in their analysis and decision-making, thus reinforcing market transformation. In this book, high-level practitioners and academic thought leaders explain the forces behind these developments.
What Every CEO Should Know about AI by Viktor Dörfler
Call Number: Cambridge e-book

ISBN: 9781009037853

Publication Date: 2022

The author combines his background in developing and implementing AI with scholarly research on knowledge and cultivating talent to address misconceptions about AI. The book explains what AI can and cannot do, carefully delineating facts from beliefs or wishful thinking, and is filled with examples and coverage of ethical issues CEOs should be aware of.
Data ethics and challenges by Samiksha Shukla, et al.
Call Number: Springer e-book

ISBN: 9811907528

Publication Date: 2022

This item provides a thorough and systematic introduction to data, data sources, and dimensions of data. The authors address privacy and security challenges associated with data, ethics, laws, IPR, and technology law. This book can serve as a reference for scholars, researchers, and data scientists.
Industry 4.0: a glocal perspective by Jerzy Duda & Aleksandra Gasior
Call Number: Routledge e-book

ISBN: 9781000440836

Publication Date: 2021

The Fourth Industrial Revolution, also known as Industry 4.0, refers to the industrial paradigm bringing together the digital and physical worlds through the cyber-physical Systems, enhanced by the Internet of Things aimed to increase the effectiveness of human-machine cooperation (HMC). This book deals with issues related to the challenges of Industry 4.0 that are faced by enterprises and universities. Topics include human resources management, marketing, technology enhancements and IT systems, and range from discussion of managing multi-national teams to product customization to IoT and RFID systems, and much more.
Blue Economy of the Indian Ocean by Ranadhir Mukhopadhyay; et al.
Call Number: CRC e-book

ISBN: 9780429326004

Publication Date: 2021

This book explores the immense potential of the India Ocean Region (IOR) and how best to maintain sustainable and responsible economic and strategic activities. The combination of science, innovation, and entrepreneurship will create a new blue economy business model, which has the potential to transform society. Crossing a wide range of interests and expertise, this book explores topics of interest to the fields of marine sciences, economics, business, geography, and political sciences.
The Oxford Handbook of Meaningful Work by Ruth Yeoman (Editor); Catherine Bailey (Editor); Adrian Madden (Editor); Marc Thompson (Editor)
Call Number: Oxford e-book

ISBN: 9780198788232

Publication Date: 2019

The OHMW examines the concept, practices and effects of meaningful work in organizations and beyond. Taking an interdisciplinary approach, this volume reflects diverse scholarly contributions to understanding meaningful work from philosophy, political theory, psychology, sociology, organizational studies, and economics. The collection illuminates the relationship of meaningful work to organizational constructs of identity, belonging, callings, self-transcendence, culture, and occupations. Representing some of the most up to date academic research, the editors aim to inspire and equip researchers by identifying new directions and methods with which to deepen scholarly inquiry into a topic of growing importance.
Encyclopedia of Business and Professional Ethics by Poff, Deborah & Alex Michalos
Call Number: Springer e-book

ISBN: 9783319235141

Publication Date: 2019

This encyclopedia, edited by the past editors and founder of the Journal of Business Ethics, is the only reference work dedicated entirely to business and professional ethics. Containing over 2000 entries, this multi-volume, major research reference work provides a broad-based disciplinary and interdisciplinary approach to all of the key topics in the field
The Routledge Companion to Business Ethics by Eugene Heath, Byron Kaldis & Alexei Marcoux, Eds. This Companion provides a novel overview of the discipline of business ethics, covering the major areas of the field as well as new and emerging topics.
Call Number: Routledge e-book

ISBN: 9781138789562

Publication Date: 2018
Cambridge Handbook of Research Approaches to Business Ethics and Corporate Responsibility by Patricia H. Werhane (Editor); R. Edward Freeman (Editor); Sergiy Dmytriyev (Editor) While there is a large and ever-expanding body of work on the fields of business ethics and corporate social responsibility (CSR), there is a noted absence of a single source on the methodology and research approaches to these fields.
Call Number: e-book

ISBN: 9781107150690

Publication Date: 2017

Reports & Websites

Ethics Unwrapped (UT Austin)
This free website maintained by McCombs School of Business featured resources about research and practical applications of behavioral ethics. There are videos, cases, a blog and other resources for teaching & learning. Topical coverage is broad, including CSR, leadership, organizational ethics, law, policy, media, science, the professions and more.

Conference Board's Research Insights

United Nations' Global Compact Library

Business Ethics: the Magazine of Corporate Social Responsibility

CAUX Round Table

Global Corruption Report

Ethics Resources @ UC San Diego

Below are links to campus research units and centers that address applied ethics topics. Many have visiting speakers and events that may be of interest.

Videos

Consuming Kids: The Commercialization of Childhood
The multi-billion dollar youth marketing industry has been able to use the latest advances in psychology, anthropology, and neuroscience to transform American children into one of the most powerful and profitable consumer demographics in the world. American kids now influence an estimated $700 billion in annual spending, targeted virtually from birth with a relentless bombardment of sophisticated commercial appeals designed to sell everything from Hollywood merchandise and junk foods to iPods, cell phones, the family car and vacations.