Linguistics: Data & Corpora

The largest freely-available corpus of English.

Open source research data repository software.

This preliminary one-year license only includes ONLINE USE of the corpora. If you’d like to download the corpora, you’ll need to purchase on your own. For each type or corpora, there is some free data available.

To access our license, use the VPN and create an account on English-corpora.org. Once you create an account, choose University of California, San Diego as your institution.

The website is a little circuitous, so if you have any questions or access issues, reach out.

ICAME is an international organization of linguists and information scientists working with English machine-readable texts.

The annotated links on this site are mainly meant for linguists and language teachers who work with corpora

This catalog, developed by the Open Language Archives Community (OLAC), provides access to a wealth of information about thousands of languages, including details of text collections, audio recordings, dictionaries, and software, sourced from dozens of digital and traditional archives.

A global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines.

Linguistics: https://www.re3data.org/search?query=linguistics

The Santa Barbara Corpus includes transcriptions, audio, and timestamps which correlate transcription and audio at the level of individual intonation units.

Search and browse over 40,000 resources dating from 1935 to the present that describe, document, and/or communicate in the languages and cultures SIL serves.

Statistical natural language processing and corpus-based computational linguistics: An annotated list of resources

The Survey of English Usage carries out research in English language Corpus Linguistics, and was the first centre in Europe to undertake this type of research. From its inception in 1959, the Survey collected samples of naturally-occurring language for the purposes of description and analysis.

The TIME corpus is based on 100 million words of text in about 275,000 articles from TIME magazine from 1923-2006, and it serves as a great resource to examine changes in American English during this time.

The Tromsø Repository of Language and Linguistics (TROLLing) is designed as an archive of linguistic data and statistical code. The archive is open access, which means that all information is available to to everyone.

Recordings of hundreds of languages from around the world, providing source materials for phonetic and phonological research, of value to scholars, speakers of the languages, and language learners alike.

A large database of structural (phonological, grammatical, lexical) properties of languages gathered from descriptive materials (such as reference grammars) by a team of more than 40 authors. Includes 141 maps with accompanying texts on diverse features (such as vowel inventory size, noun-genitive order, passive constructions, and "hand"/"arm" polysemy). Each map shows between 120 and 1370 languages, each language being represented by a symbol, and different symbols showing different values of the feature. Altogether 2,650 languages are shown on the maps