Linguistics: Article Databases

Ways to find articles

You can find articles by:

Selecting a database in the left column
If you know a specific journal title, using our e-Journal search box
If you have a citation, using the Citation Linker

Journal Search Box
Citation Linker
Know the details of a specific citation you need? If so, use Citation Linker to look for it in UCSD's collection and make your request if we don't have it

Major Linguistics Databases

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts: LLBA
LLBA is the principal index to scholarly publications in the field of linguistics, including journal articles, monographs, conference papers, dissertations, book reviews, etc.

MLA International Bibliography (MLAIB, Modern Language Association)

Databases for Related Subjects

Depending on your topic, you may find it helpful to check in a database for another social science, e.g. Anthropology, Cognitive Science, Education, Psychology, Sociology, etc.

Ethnologue: Languages of the World
A comprehensive reference work cataloging all of the world's known living languages. Since 1951, the Ethnologue has been an active research project involving hundreds of linguists and other researchers around the world. It is widely regarded to be the most comprehensive source of information of its kind. With the academic subscription, you “Get unfettered access to our language and country profiles, maps, statistics, language family trees, and more," but country reports are sold to individuals separately.

Annual Bibliography of English Language & Literature (ABELL)
English language – including syntax, phonology, lexicology, semantics, stylistics and dialectology.

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
1966-present. Sponsored by the U.S. Dept of Education; provides access to educational-related literature. Coverage includes journal articles and non-journal sources in education which are not available online. If not online, write down the ED# located in the 'Accession Number' field of the record, and check the ERIC documents microfiche cabinets located in the Geisel Library Reference Area.

MIT CogNet
Anthropology Plus
The major database for anthropology. Indexes articles published in over 2500 journals, plus chapters in edited volumes.

PsycINFO
Abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
Sociological Abstracts
1963-present. Abstracts journal articles, monographs, dissertations, conference proceedings, other research covering sociology, social work, and related social sciences. Also includes selected web resources.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Multidisciplinary databases which include linguistics.

Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts articles in more than 10,900 journals and other publications in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese; full-text is available for over 5300 journals.
Pascal and Francis Bibliographic Databases
INIST-CNRS database indexes articles in social sciences and humanities published since 1972+. International index to journal articles published from 1984 to present in the humanities and social sciences, with special strength in religion, anthropology, history of art, literature, economics.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984
1907-1984. Indexes articles published in wide range of important journals in the humanities & social sciences between 1907-1984.
JSTOR
Search by subject or browse full text of more than 500 scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, and sciences, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years not included.
Project Muse: Scholarly Journals and Books Online
Search by subject or browse full text of scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. Coverage begins 1995 or later, depending on the publication.
Social Sciences Full Text
Indexes and provides abstracts of articles published since 1983 in over 700 social sciences journals, with fulltext provided for most articles published from 1994+. See long description for subjects covered.
Web of Science
1900-present. Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Science Citation Index. Major database indexes 10,000+ journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, & humanities, as well as conference proceedings.