LibGuides: SOC 196: Honors Undergraduate Research: Finding Scholarly Articles

Finding Articles-- Sociology

UCSD Libraries subscribe to several databases specific to Sociology. Databases contain articles that have been published in scholarly journals. These are just a few recommended for your research. Use the yellow UC-eLinks button to find the online full text or print articles when the article isn't automatically available full text in the database.

Sociological Abstracts
1963-present. Abstracts journal articles, monographs, dissertations covering sociology, social work, and related social sciences.

Sociology: A SAGE Full-text Collection
Includes the full-text of 28 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back twenty years. Database consists of bibliographic records as well as the complete text of each journal article in pdf format.

Finding Articles--General and Interdisciplinary

The following databases look at all areas of the social sciences, humanities and arts and also general interest publications. With one search, you may be able to pull out research from many different disciplines.

Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database with 17,800+ journals and magazines, of which 16,000+ are peer-reviewed and 8,750+ are full-text. Also included are books, conference papers and proceedings, government documents, newspapers, video content, and more. Coverage begins in 1887, with material in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.
JSTOR
Search by subject or browse 2,600+ full-text titles, predominantly scholarly journals and books in social sciences, history, humanities, and science and mathematics, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years often not included. JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Project Muse: Scholarly Journals and Books Online
Search by subject or browse full text scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. More than 700 journals from over 250 university presses and scholarly publishers are available. Coverage begins 1906 or later, depending on the publication. UCSD also has access to over 30,000 book titles.

Finding Articles--Specific Subjects

Depending on your specific area of research, you may want to look in related disciplines and fields of study. The following databases cover a larger number of publications than more general databases.

America: History and Life
1964-present. International database for research on all periods of U.S. and Canadian history, including very recent years. Includes abstracts of journal articles and listings of books and dissertations.
Business Source Complete
Dates of coverage vary, some journals back to early 20th century. Abstracts and full text in virtually all subject areas related to business. Journal and magazine articles; also books, industry reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, much more.
Chicano Database
Index representing all types of material on Mexican-American topics. Extensive indexing from 1960s to the present; selective coverage back to early 1900s. Since 1992 includes articles on the broader Latino experience.
Communication Abstracts
1963-present. Abstracts articles, reports, papers, books from a variety of publishers and research institutions in all areas of communication studies (mass, interpersonal and new communication technologies).

Contemporary Women's Issues
Abstracts and some full-text articles from more than
1500 publications, offering a multidisciplinary focus on gender issues.

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
1966-present. Educational Resources Information Center is a database sponsored by the U.S. Dept of Education to provide access to educational-related literature. Includes citations and abstracts to journal articles (EJ) and documents (ED) in education.

Ethnic NewsWatch
1960-present. Full text U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European-American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Searchable in English and Spanish.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide
Publications indexed are drawn from a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history, and social work. Covers 1970-present

FIAF: International Index to Film Periodicals
1972-present. Includes comprehensive coverage of television periodicals 1972-2000, and coverage of tv in film periodicals since that date. Also several other more specialized databases on film research
Film and Television Literature Index
1987-present; limited 1970-86. Covers writing about film and television for scholars, students and the general public. Subjects include film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, reviews

GenderWatch
A full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. 1970s-present.

Historical Abstracts
1954-present. An international database for research on the history of all regions (except the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the current decade.

LGBT Life
A resource for literature regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender issues. Contains indexing and abstracts for more than 120 GLBT-specific core periodicals.

PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)
1972-present. Lists print and electronic articles, books, and government publications on issues of public policy, including politics, government, economy, marine policy, law
PsycINFO
1806-present. From the American Psychological Association. Provides access to scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes jrnl articles, books, chapters, and dissertations.
Over 2,400 jrnl titles indexed.

Urban Studies Abstracts
1992-present. Index for all aspects of Urban Studies from 1992 to the present. Includes abstracts and many full-text links. Formerly Sage Urban Studies Abstracts

Women's Studies International
1972-present. Abstracts of journal articles, books and other materials drawn from a variety of women's studies databases, including Womens Studies Abstracts
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
1975-present. Research within the political science
discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.
Military & Government Collection
Offers current news on all branches of the military and government through a collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites.