Search UC Library Search to locate additional collections of survey results or more specialized books and reports containing public opinion information. Sample subject searches:
Public opinion--United States
Public opinion--United States--Statistics
Public opinion polls--United States
Europe--Politics and government--1945--Public opinion
Explore leading economic indicators and social and wellbeing data collected since 2005 in more than 160 countries and areas. Gallup Analytics provides topline access to data from the Gallup World Poll, the Gallup US Daily Tracking, and the historical data from the Gallup Poll Social Series (GPSS). Gallup Analytics includes questions and indexes covering topics such as economics, politics, and wellbeing. One user can access the portal at any given time. Does not include respondent data for World Poll; contact the Library for assistance in requesting respondent data for Gallup Poll Social Series (GPSS).
1935-Present Located at the University of Connecticut, the Roper Center is the principal archive for summary-level (aggregate) and micro-level (raw) public opinion survey data from the major polling organizations in the United States as well as some polls from foreign countries. The complete texts of questions, response categories, response percentages, survey organization, sponsor, field dates, sample and sample size are included. All major U.S. polling organizations and polling sponsors are represented in the archive, including: Gallup, ICR, Ipsos, PSRI, RoperASW, Wirthlin Worldwide, Yankelovich Partners; ABC News, CBS News, CNN, Los Angeles Times, NBC News, New York Times, Time, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Kaiser Family Foundation, Pew Center for the People and the Press and academic research centers.
ICPSR holdings include over 1000 public opinion polls from around the world, including United States election exit polls. ICPSR archives the Eurobarometer series and the ISSP. Polling organizations represented include: ABC News, CBS News, New York Times, Washington Post.
This public opinion database maintained by the University of North Carolina contains more than 230,000 questions from surveys conducted since 1958. It is the repository for all Louis Harris public opinion data and Roper Center nonproprietary poll data as well as state-level polling organizations from 22 states, with strong coverage of Southern states. Questions are searchable by keyword, date, study number, study title, or state.
The General Social Surveys (GSS) measures attitudes toward social and public policy issues, economic status, political events, work, and family life. In addition to questions asked each year, topical modules are included on a rotating basis that focus on current issues such as gender equity, religious beliefs, and perception of work.
The GSS have been conducted by the National Opinion Research Center annually since 1972, except for the years 1979, 1981, and 1992 (a supplement was added in 1992), and biennially beginning in 1994. For each round of surveys, the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research prepares a cumulative dataset that merges previous years of the GSS into a single file, with each year or survey constituting a sub-file.
1948-Present The American National Election Study (ANES) is the oldest continuous series of survey data investigating electoral behavior and attitudes in the United States. The focus of the survey includes voter perceptions of the major political parties, the candidates, national and international issues, and of the importance of the election. Also explored are voter expectations about the outcome of the election, degree of voter interest in politics, political affiliation and voting history, as well as participation in the electoral process. ANES interviews are conducted before and after presidential elections and after national congressional elections. Post-election interviews include questions on actual voting behavior and voter reflections about the election outcome.
1975 - present Conducted on behalf of the Chicago Council on Foreign Relations, this series of studies investigate the opinions and attitudes of the general public and a select group of opinion leaders (or elites) on matters relating to United States foreign policy and to define the parameters of public opinion within which decision-makers must operate.
1985 - present
The International Social Survey Program (ISSP) is an ongoing program of cross-national collaboration which develops topical modules dealing with important social science areas as supplements to regular national surveys (e.g., the US General Social Surveys).
Each survey includes questions about general attitudes toward various social issues such as the legal system, sex, and the economy. Special topics have included the environment, the role of government, social inequality, social support, family and gender issues, work orientation, the impact of religious background, behavior, and beliefs on social and political preferences, and national identity. Participating countries vary for each topical module. The 2002 wave covered 34 countries.
1974 - present. Cross-national survey program covering all European Union member states which regularly monitors the social and political attitudes of the nine member nations: France, Germany, the United Kingdom, Italy, the Netherlands, Belgium, Denmark, Ireland, and Luxembourg. These Eurobarometers are carried out in the spring and fall of each year.
There are four main series: Standard Eurobarometer, with core questions and rotating topical modules; Flash Eurobarometer, on special topics or surveying special target groups; Central and Eastern Eurobarometer and Candidate Countries Eurobarometer, covering countries outside the European Community. The Mannheim Eurobarometer Trend File, 1970-1999, presents 100 trend questions asked at least five times in Standard Eurobarometer surveys.
Latest 2 years
The Field (California) Poll, founded in 1947, has operated continuously as a California statewide survey of opinions and attitudes on social and political issues.
Through its regularly scheduled surveys, The Field Poll tracks voter preferences in all major statewide candidate and proposition election contests, assesses California public opinion about elected officials and major issues facing the state, obtains reaction to political and social developments, and covers topical news stories of general public interest.
The Public Policy Institute of California (PPIC) is a private nonprofit organization dedicated to informing and improving public policy in California through independent, objective, nonpartisan research.
An independent research project that measures the social, political and economic atmosphere in Africa. During Round 1, from July 1999 through June 2001, Afrobarometer surveys were conducted in 12 countries. Round 2 surveys were conducted from May 2002 through October 2003 in 15 countries. Round 3 surveys in 18 countries are planned for 2005-6. Survey microdata are released to the public two years after the first publication of a survey's results. Available through ICPSR.
Arab Barometer provides insight into the social, political, and economic attitudes and values of ordinary citizens across the Arab world. Surveys have been conducted one or more times in each of the following 16 countries: Algeria, Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Palestine, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Tunisia, Qatar, Mauritania, and Yemen. Survey data is available over seven waves: 2006-2009, 2010-2011, 2012-2014, 2016-2017, 2018-2019, 2020-2021, and 2021-2022.
The Latin American Public Opinion Project has produced over sixty surveys analyzing public perceptions of the role of government, political tolerance, citizen participation, and corruption among other issues. Uniquely, it includes The Americas Barometer, which is viewed as the most comprehensive survey of democratic public opinion and behavior that covers the Americas. Data is available for 2004, 2006 and 2008.
The Latinobarómetro is an annual survey conducted amongst 18 countries in Latin America. The survey, which has been conducted since 1995, asks respondents about topics such as globalization, democratic governance and political institutions, "social capital," the environment, and gender issues. SSDS has microdata files for this survey starting with 1995.
Description
Latinobarómetro is an annual public opinion survey conducted since 1995 by Latinobarómetro Corporation, a non-profit NGO based in Santiago, Chile. Each survey consists of approximately 19,000 interviews and represents over 400 million inhabitants and, since 2004, covers all 18 Latin American countries.
Many questions are standardized and therefore facilitate time-series analysis. Standardized measures include: attitudes toward democracy, civic culture, economic issues, gender issues, the environment, inequality, social capital, and trade policy. Results of the surveys are of interest to social and political actors, international organizations, governments and the media.
Note: A survey was not conducted in 1999.
Responsible Use Statement
Access to Latinobarometro data is restricted to enrolled students, faculty and staff at UC San Diego. These data may not be copied or redistributed in whole or part to third parties outside of UC San Diego. Please contact Data Services if you have any questions about Latinobarómetro survey data access and usage.
Please note that journal articles, conference papers, books, book chapters, and other publications or reports that employ Latinobarómetro data should acknowledge Latinobarómetro Corporation as the owner/source of these data and include a statement that the views expressed within the publications are solely those of the author.
Technical Notes
Data files are available for all 12 annual surveys in both SPSS (.sav) and Stata (.dta) formats. The documentation for each survey is also available in PDF format.
Please note that the Stata files differ from the original SPSS files distributed by the vendor in the following ways: 1. variable labels over 80 characters have been truncated to 80 characters, 2. SPSS user-defined missing values appear as regular values in Stata, and 3. variables containing a period character have been converted to an underscore character.
Founded in 1992, the CORA contains hundreds of surveys collected by major commercial Canadian firms dating back to the 1970s. Most of the datasets are not available for direct download but access to the archive may be requested.
Monitors social trends in Germany. Each data collection focuses on special topics of investigation. Basic demographic and socioeconomic data also are collected on the respondents, who are German-speaking persons 18 years of age and older. Conducted biennially since 1980. Before 1991, respondents were chosen from the Federal Republic of Germany and West Berlin only, and since 1991 from all of Germany.
ICPSR holdings include over 1000 public opinion polls from around the world, including United States election exit polls. ICPSR archives the Eurobarometer series and the ISSP. Polling organizations represented include: ABC News, CBS News, New York Times, Washington Post.
1985 - present
The International Social Survey Program (ISSP) is an ongoing program of cross-national collaboration which develops topical modules dealing with important social science areas as supplements to regular national surveys (e.g., the US General Social Surveys).
Each survey includes questions about general attitudes toward various social issues such as the legal system, sex, and the economy. Special topics have included the environment, the role of government, social inequality, social support, family and gender issues, work orientation, the impact of religious background, behavior, and beliefs on social and political preferences, and national identity. Participating countries vary for each topical module. The 2002 wave covered 34 countries.
Acquires, processes and archives public opinion surveys conducted by the survey research community in Latin America, including universities, institutes, individual scholars, private polling and public opinion research firms. To date, the LAD collection holds nearly twelve hundred studies from 16 countries, with the largest contributions coming from Argentina, Chile, Mexico, Peru and Venezuela.
Monitoring the Future is an ongoing study of the behaviors, attitudes, and values of American secondary school students, college students, and young adults. Each year, a total of some 50,000 8th, 10th and 12th grade students are surveyed. A number of questions on drug use are asked.
1935-Present Located at the University of Connecticut, the Roper Center is the principal archive for summary-level (aggregate) and micro-level (raw) public opinion survey data from the major polling organizations in the United States as well as some polls from foreign countries. All major U.S. polling organizations and polling sponsors are represented in the archive, including: Gallup, ICR, Ipsos, PSRI, RoperASW, Wirthlin Worldwide, Yankelovich Partners; ABC News, CBS News, CNN, Los Angeles Times, NBC News, New York Times, Time, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Kaiser Family Foundation, Pew Center for the People and the Press and academic research centers. The complete texts of questions, response categories, response percentages, survey organization, sponsor, field dates, sample and sample size are included.
A dataset that includes summary information from social surveys indicating levels of happiness in about 90 countries around the world, along with data on possibal causal factors.
The series is designed to enable a crossnational comparison of values and norms on a wide variety of topics and to monitor changes in values and attitudes across the globe. A variety of questions on religion and morality were included. Data is currently available for 1981-1984, 1990-1993, 1995-1997, and 1999-2002.
Provides topline public opinion poll results from around the world. The WorldPublicOpinion.org network is a consortium of research centers studying public opinion on international issues in their respective countries. The WorldPublicOpinion.org website provides information and analysis about public opinion on international policy issues from around the world. While the studies of the WorldPublicOpinion.org network figure prominently, the website draws together data from a wide variety of sources from around the world.
Topics include Employment, Hours of Work, Wages, Labor Cost, CPI, Occupational Injuries, Strikes, Household Income and Expenditure, Migration, Retail Prices of 93 Food Items.
Ranking of economic freedom based on variables in ten categories. Scores indicate the level of government interference in the economy. Rankings, comparisons, and country analysis is available as well as time s
Includes the human development index (HDI) and other indices, links to other background materials, data resources and on-going debates and discussions on human development statistics.
Freedom house is an independent non-governmental organization that supports the expansion of freedom in the world. They provide a comparative assessment of global political rights and civil liberties with data back to 1972.
The statistical tables display economic and social statistics on the countries and territories of the world with particular reference to children's well being.
The House Ways and Means Committee Green Book provides program descriptions and historical data on a wide variety of social and economic topics, including Social Security, employment, earnings, welfare, child support, health insurance, the elderly, families with children, poverty and taxation. It has become a standard reference work for those interested in the direction of social policy in the United States. 1996, 1998, 2000, 2004. See Appendix pdf files for data tables.
Polling America : an encyclopedia of public opinion by 
Public opinion and polling around the world : a historical encyclopedia by 
