Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
United States Demographics
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
1790-present. This site combines data from the U.S. Census of Population and Housing & the American Community Survey (ACS) with a user friendly interface, allowing the creation of maps & statistical tables. Census Tract boundaries are available back to 1940. Now also includes data on U.S. elections, business pattern, environmental summary, health, religion, and crime; the UK and Canadian censuses; Irish religious data; World Development Indicators, and EuroStat.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping application that lets users quickly create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States. Access limited to 5 simultaneous users. Try again later if refused. Includes EASI/MediaMark Research Incorporated (MRI) and Simmons LOCAL data packages. (formerly known as SimplyMap).
Data-Planet This link opens in a new window
Provides easy access to statistical data. Data is downloadable in Excel and CSV, and shapefiles when multiple geographies are covered. Sources include: Bombay Stock Exchange, British Bankers' Association, Chicago Board Options, Exchange, China Data Center, D&B (Dun & Bradstreet), Dave Leip's Atlas of US Presidential Elections, Defense Manpower Data Center, Deutsche Börse Group, Dow Jones, Easy Analytic Software Inc. (EASI), Eurostat, FTSE Group, HSI Services Limited (Hong Kong), International Monetary Fund, London Bullion Market Association , London Platinum & Palladium Market, NASDAQ OMX Group, National Bureau of Economic Research, Nikkei, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, Shanghai Stock Exchange, Standard & Poor's, World Bank, World Resource Institute, Xignite, and many US Federal agencies. See the Data-Planet Libguide
for more detail.
Census data This link opens in a new window
NOTE: Replaces American FactFinder.
Statistics collected by the Census Department:
American Community Survey
American Housing Survey
Annual Surveys of Governments
Census of Governments
Annual Economic Surveys
Equal Employment Opportunity (EEO) Tabulation
Population Estimates Program
Puerto Rico Community Survey
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Government agency statistics on the United States going back to colonial times.
International Demographic Statistics
International Historical Statistics, 1750-2010 This link opens in a new window
Updated to 2010 wherever possible, provides key economic and social indicators for the last 260 years, serving as an essential reference source. 3-volume set.
U.N. Demographic Yearbook
Demographic statistics by country and major region.
U.S. Census International Database
Population projections by country.
Collection of international statistics from the World Bank, World Development Indicators (WDI) and Global Development Finance (GDF) , International Monetary Fund (IMF) , UNESCO and other organizations. A total of 438 series and 274 countries.
OECD Regional Population
Click Regional on left, then click on small regions. Population, labor and GDP statistics.
Passport GMID: Global Market Information Database This link opens in a new window
Euromonitor International's Global Market Information Database (GMID) is an online business information system providing business intelligence on industries, countries, and consumers. It offers integrated access to over a million demographic, economic and consumer market statistics, reports, insightful comment and business information sources. Coverage is global, more than 200 countries are researched
IPUMS - Integrated Public Use Microdata Series
Includes harmonized international data for 1960 forward, covering 397 million people in 185 censuses from around the world; harmonized data on people in the U.S. census and American Community Survey, from 1850 to the present; and harmonized data on people in the Current Population Survey, every March from 1962 to the present
Includes American Community Survey (ACS) and Current Population Survey (CPS)