Finding Data & Statistics: Environment, Climate, & Energy

"Environmental" section includes Agricultural Chemical Usage Reports

Nonprofit with reports and data on economic development, education, employment and income, environment, government, health, housing, immigration, infrastructure, political participation, population, public finance, social policy, transportation, and water

EPA has set national air quality standards for six common air pollutants (also called the criteria pollutants):
carbon monoxide (CO)
ozone (O3),
lead (Pb)
nitrogen dioxide (NO2)
particulate matter (PM)
sulfur dioxide (SO2)

A single point of access to select U.S. EPA environmental data. EPA site for data on air quality, water, waste, and more.

This site is a single place to find a vast selection of EPA data sources, organized into topics such as agriculture, climate change, energy, sustainability, waste, and more. For each data source, you can see a basic overview, including the geographic scale and other contextual information, then access the data source itself.

Including renewable energy and emissions

The Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) is a resource for learning about toxic chemical releases and pollution prevention activities reported by industrial and federal facilities.

The National Ocean Economics Program (NOEP) at the Middlebury Institute of International Studies at Monterey provides a full range of the most current policy-relevant economic and demographic information available on changes and trends along the U.S. coast, Great Lakes, and coastal waters.

Each online book contains historical and cultural background information on the country it covers. Formerly known as the Area Handbooks from the Department of the Army.

2-page summary documents on each country

Country by country statistics

A one-stop-shop for information on progress towards the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs), globally and at the country level. Statistics and project progress information are available by country and by goal.

Provides direct access to official documents reflecting the views of United Nations Member States by bringing together in one place documents available elsewhere.

CEC provides interactive maps and dashboards to access, explore, analyze, and download various energy related datasets.

SDGE provides data files containing customer energy usage data by customer type (Residential, Commercial, Industrial and Agricultural) that has been aggregated by zip code.

National and state-level energy data including petroleum & other liquids, natural gas, electricity, consumption & efficiency, coal, renewable & alternative fuels, nuclear & uranium, and total energy. Also includes some international content.

Information available by state or by fleet (i.e., public transit, delivery services). Maps and data including alternative fueling stations by fuel type and location, electric vehicle sales, electricity sources and emissions, and laws and incentives.

The Statistical Review provides comprehensive, high-quality objective and globally consistent data on world energy markets

Data by country, region, and commercial group (OECD, OPEC) including total and crude oil production, oil consumption, natural gas production and consumption, coal production and consumption, electricity generation and consumption, primary energy, energy intensity, CO2 emissions and imports and exports for all fuels.

Click on country name, statistics, and then "indicators" to see electricity use (kWh) per capita

Climate Data Online (CDO) provides free access to the National Center for Environmental Information (NCEI) archive of global historical weather and climate data in addition to station history information. These data include quality controlled daily, monthly, seasonal, and yearly measurements of temperature, precipitation, wind, and degree days as well as radar data and 30-year Climate Normals.

National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI) offers several types of climate information generated from examination of the data in the archives. These types of information include record temperatures, record precipitation and snowfall, climate extremes statistics, and other derived climate products.

These links provide quick access to many of NCEI's climate and weather datasets, products, and various web pages and resources, such as: local climatological data, global hourly data, weather maps and charts, wind data, global hourly data, and more.

Data and resources related to coastal flooding, food resilience, water, ecosystem vulnerability, human health, energy infrastructure,transportation, and the Arctic region.

Includes data and maps about: average monthly temperature, monthly temperature outlook, drought monitor, severe weather, and more

Simulation and observation data about: temperature, aerosols, clouds, oceans, precipitation, radiative flux, and storms.

Statistics related to CO₂ and greenhouse gas emissions from Our World in Data

Includes indicator statistics (emissions, electricity consumption, energy use, etc.) and links to Climate Change Knowledge Portal and Carbon Pricing Dashboard

Indicator areas: greenhouse gases, weather and climate, oceans, snow and ice, health and society, and ecosystems

Local climate data

SHELDUS™ is a county-level hazard data set for the U.S. and covers natural hazards such thunderstorms, hurricanes, floods, wildfires, and tornados as well as perils such as flash floods, heavy rainfall, etc. The database contains information on the date of an event, affected location (county and state) and the direct losses caused by the event (property and crop losses, injuries, and fatalities) from 1960 to present.
To access and download SHELDUS data, create an account with your @ucsd.edu email address. Note: our subscription covers aggregated data only. To download aggregated data, it is critical to always select a type of aggregation (select geography, timespan, or hazards as last step of query). Otherwise the database assumes you are requesting raw data and it will quote you a price.

The National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI) collects data on tsunamis, earthquakes, volcanoes, and wildfires. API access available.

Climate events in the United States that have caused a billion or more dollars in damage. Dataset includes disaster type, date and location of event, total cost, and deaths.

EM-DAT contains data on the occurrence and impacts of over 26,000 mass disasters worldwide from 1900 to the present day. The database is compiled from various sources, including UN agencies, non-governmental organizations, reinsurance companies, research institutes, and press agencies. The Centre for Research on the Epidemiology of Disasters (CRED) distributes the data in open access for non-commercial use. Note: an account must be created before accessing data; data use is governed by terms of use.

U.S.-wide storm event data containing information about the occurrence of intense storms and other weather phenomena; rare, unusual, weather phenomena; record maximum or minimum temperatures or precipitation that are connected with another event; and more. Currently covers January 1950 to July 2023.

View Tropical Cyclone Reports, which contain storm information like meteorological statistics, casualties and damages, and six-hourly storm positions and intensities.

A global catalog of historic earthquakes, searchable by time, magnitude, and location, as well as more advanced search options.

Federal interagency wildland fire maps and data (available as geospatial feature layer). Federal agencies represented at NIFC are BIA, BLM, U.S. Fire Administration (USFA), USFWS, USFS, National Association of State Foresters (NASF), NWS and NPS.

The California Governor's Office of Emergency Services (Cal OES) GIS data hub provides geospatial data on volcano status, earthquakes, smoke and fire, and more.