Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Children and Families - Statistics
Children and Families - Datasets
Early Childhood Longitudinal Study
Data collected in the fall and the spring of kindergarten (1998-99), the fall and spring of first grade (1999-2000), the spring of third grade (2002) and the spring of 8th grade (2007) for the Early Childhood Longitudinal Study, Kindergarten Class of 1998-99. Representative sample of approximately 22,000 children in private and public schools. download data
Murray Research Archive
Topics well-represented in the archive include sexual orientation, gender roles and the status of women, race, and socio-economic status. Application may need to be made directly to the Murray Research Archive for permission to use the data.
National Data Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect
The National Data Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect at Cornell University focuses on the field of child maltreatment. NDACAN acquires microdata from leading researchers and national data collection efforts and makes the datasets available to the research community for secondary analysis. NOTE: Application must be made directly to NDACAN for permission to use the data.
National Survey of America's Families
This surwey provides a comprehensive look at the well-being of children and adults, identifying differences among the 13 states which have been studied in depth: Alabama, California, Colorado, Florida, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, New Jersey, New York, Texas, Washington, and Wisconsin. Sample of over 40,000 families per round.
National Survey of Families and Households (NSFH)
This is a longitudinal population-based survey of families and households in the United States designed to look at the causes and consequences of changes in family and household structure. Three survey waves are available: Wave 1: 1987-1988; Wave 2: 1992-1994; Wave 3: 2001-2002. (Citation information for each wave is available on the survey's home page.)
National Survey of Family Growth (1973, 1976, 1982, 1988, 1995, 2002, 2006-2008)
Women were asked questions about fertility and contraception, including contraceptive use and pregnancy histories, desired family size, and expectation of further children. The survey reports background information about the respondent and spouse such as education, religion, ethnic origin, occupation, and earnings.
The Fragile Families and Child Wellbeing Study
This study follows a birth cohort of mostly unwed parents and their children over a five-year period. The study was designed to provide information on unwed parents, as well as the effects of policies on family formation and child wellbeing.
Child & Family Data Archive
The Child and Family Data Archive (CFData) is the place to discover, access, and analyze data on early care, education, and families. CFData hosts datasets about young children, their families and communities, and the programs that serve them.
United States Aging Statistics
The State of Aging and Health in America Report
Assesses the health status and health behaviors of U.S. adults aged 65 years and older and makes recommendations to improve the mental and physical health of all Americans in their later years. The report includes national- and state-based report cards that examine 15 key indicators of older adult health, strategies to improve the health and quality of life of older adults, and state examples that highlight innovative healthy aging efforts at the state and community level.
The State of Mental Health and Aging. CDC
Provides current data on six key indicators related to the mental health of adults aged 50 years or older from CDC’s Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS). Additional information is provided on the topic of depression, an important and emerging public health issue. Includes: Social and Emotional Support, Life Satisfaction, Frequent Mental Distress, Current Depression, Lifetime Diagnosis of Depression, Lifetime Diagnosis of Anxiety Disorder.
Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System
WISQARS is the Injury Center's interactive, online database that provides customized injury-related mortality data and nonfatal injury data with age filter.
ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Provides links to statistical tables from local, national and international government sources. Use keywords such as aging, elderly, welfare, social security etc. Limit by year or full text options
International Aging Statistics
CIA World Factbook This link opens in a new window
Country overviews including basic economic data and sources. Population over 65 by gender.
UNdata This link opens in a new window
Population counts by age, sex, country and year. Includes 65+ variable.
Economically active population, by level of education and age group (Thousands). Unemployment by age, over 55 category.
Vaccination Rates Against Influenza for People 65 and Over. OECD
OECD countries. Select Health, then Health Statistics then select health care activities. Percent of population 65 and over.
Education Statistics from World Bank
Includes 19 available indicators covering early childhood, primary, secondary, and tertiary education, as well as literacy, educational expenditures, school safety, and more.