Finding Data & Statistics: Government Spending & Infrastructure

The Federal Funding Accountability and Transparency Act (FFATA) of 2006 requires that the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) establish a single searchable website, accessible to the public at no cost.

Data-Z (formerly State Data Lab) is a project of Truth in Accounting and funded by the Robert R. McCormick Foundation. It includes state financial, demographic, and economic data with tools ranging from graphs to regression, ranking and compound growth analysis.

From Urban Institute: This interactive data tool allows for specialized searches and flexible data presentation from the Census of Governments State and Local Finance series. This series contains detailed revenue, expenditure, and debt variables for the US, each of the 50 states, and the District of Columbia from 1977 to 2016. The data are available by type of government (state, local, county, etc.), and users can view the data along five dimensions: total (in real or nominal dollars), per capita, fraction of personal income, fraction of general revenue, and fraction of total expenditures.

OpenSpending is a free, open and global platform to search, visualise and analyse fiscal data in the public sphere.

The Government Energy Spending Tracker measures two types of energy spending: clean energy investment support and consumer energy affordability measures. IEA also tracks energy subsidies.

Includes interactive charts on government spending, including expenditure as share of GDP. Charts include option to download dataset used and include details on original data source.

The California Energy Commission (CEC) has partnered with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to track the sales and population of light duty zero emission vehicles (ZEVs) in California. ZEVs include battery-electric, plug-in hybrid electric, and fuel cell electric vehicles.

Browse databases, surveys, reports and other statistical products created by BTS. Use BTS tools and apps to build your own statistical tables, graphics and maps.

State Transportation Statistics (STS) are a series of reports highlighting major federal databases and other national sources related to each state's infrastructure, safety, freight movement and passenger travel, vehicles, economy and finance, and energy

The Airline Data Project (ADP) was established by the MIT Global Airline Industry Program to better understand the opportunities, risks and challenges facing this vital industry. The ADP is designed to support the goals of the MIT Airline Industry Consortium. It is a unique repository of data and analysis that will allow individuals – from academia to the financial community to the news media – to monitor the evolution of the U.S. commercial airline industry.

The ITF Transport Statistics database comprises statistics collected by the International Transport Forum on transport networks, equipment, freight and passenger transport, road safety and spending on infrastructure. Additionally, there are quarterly data covering road traffic, new vehicles, and fuel use. Most of the ITF data series start in 1995. However, the database also includes harmonised time series consolidated as far back as 1970.

Includes density of roads and rail lines, infrastructure investment per GDP, and other indicators.

NTIA data is accessible via the US Department of Commerce data hub. Note: datasets may be links to other sites (i.e., FCC national broadband map).

Includes the current ICT Facts and Figures and the latest global and regional ICT statistics.

Via OECD iLibrary. The World Telecommunication/ICT Indicators Database includes almost 200 telecommunications and ICT indicators for more than 200 economies worldwide. As the United Nations specialized agency for information and communication technologies, ITU is the official source for global ICT statistics.